Guilty As Charged

2 Jan

I gave my notice at work this morning. I know I have to do what is best for me and mine, but it was tough!  When I spoke to my boss, she was happy for me but noticeably distressed.  When I told the HR woman she said, and I quote, “oh, poop!”  🙂

I feel SO guilty now. In all honesty it is not the best timing as there is a big event coming up the week after I leave, but I don’t really have a choice if I want to take this job. And of course I do, since the opportunity, and the pay, are too good to turn down. Where I work now could never match the even the starting pay at the new place.

So… I am going to miss the people here, but that is what email is for I suppose. I will also miss working in Annapolis, but I think working in Washington DC will be very cool as well and may even end up cooler than Annapolis in terms of workplace.

2008 is beginning with a little bit of stress, mostly in terms of my own guilt and resistance to change, but also a lot of potential involving career and finances. Let’s hope it’s the beginning of the Year of All Good Things.

13 Responses to “Guilty As Charged”

  1. Tara January 2, 2008 at 10:23 am #

    I know what you mean, I felt terribly sick when I gave my notice at my old job. Change is immensley scary, but I am so happy with my new job that I could not be more sure about the change, even before the news of the shutdown. Congratulations on the new job, I can’t wait to hear about how fabulous it is!!

  2. Not So Little Sister January 2, 2008 at 12:29 pm #

    Congrats!!! I’m so happy for you.

  3. KennethSF January 2, 2008 at 5:13 pm #

    New Year, New Chapter! It’s auspicious timing, as my superstitious Southeast Asian ancestors might have said.

  4. irunwithscissors January 2, 2008 at 10:14 pm #

    ha, i think we are all hoping that this is the beginning of a year of all good things… last year was rough… But youll be great… this will be good for you!

  5. rainypete January 3, 2008 at 7:32 am #

    It’s never easy to make that jump but bravo for going for it! Starting the New Year with a bang indeed aren’t you?? May this be just the beginning of many changes for the better for you!

  6. girlinthecrosswalk January 3, 2008 at 8:40 am #

    HOORAH! Get ready for 2008 Woman! Here it is and look at you go! 🙂

  7. charmedgirl January 3, 2008 at 11:24 am #

    dude, dc is so cool. now that you’ve given notice, the worst part is done. unless people will give you nasty looks for leaving at a bad time. you know what i say to that…f them. HA!

    anyway, i love new jobs! all the newness and starting-overness. don’t feel guilty…i’m sure they don’t for paying you zilch.

    um, not too sure i want to say anything about the year of all good things…not that i don’t hope it, i just know it’s not to be (for me, of course). i’m starting to be ok with that, which should be scary, but isn’t.

    now get over to my place and pick something!

  8. bastet3 January 3, 2008 at 11:40 am #

    Whoo, congratulations! Good luck at swanky new job!

  9. meg January 3, 2008 at 11:58 am #

    I love the photo on the beach with the shadow. Way cool. Good luck with the new job, it sounds really exciting.

  10. Ruby January 4, 2008 at 1:16 pm #

    Congrats on the new job honey! That’s fantastic! Hope you love it there and there’s lots of fabulousness to be had!

  11. christavswonderwoman January 4, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    This will definitely be your year, my beloved friend, I can feel it in my bones. And this new job is just the start – don’t feel guilty, if they are worth their salt these employers will be happy for you and nothing less.

    You deserve everything the world has to offer, and I can’t wait to watch you achieve it all!

  12. a- January 5, 2008 at 10:19 am #

    Good luck with the new gig chic!

    P.S. I am taking your advice and stepping away from the search engines. Thank you for the directive.:)

    Peace and Blessings!

  13. charmedgirl January 5, 2008 at 10:09 pm #

    hey honey- i can’t find a way to email you, so…send me your address!

Leave a Reply

