Almost A Giveaway

7 Jan

Like several of my other favorite bloggers, I had big plans to give something away… I wasn’t sure what, but something to tell my fellow bloggers how much I love them. The other night, while stubbing my toe on a box of jewelry I have been meaning to get rid of for months, it occurred to me that this giveaway business could also give me the chance to clear out some things I’ve been meaning to do so with…

But then I came across the following email from my amazing friend Caryn:

I have a friend who is in trouble. She was diagnosed with uterine cancer and has been fighting it for awhile now. She’s at the point where she’s just broke. She can’t afford her medicine anymore. She doesn’t have warm clothes for the winter. And she has nothing left to buy these things with. (Keep reading. I promise, I’m not asking for money.) My friend’s name is Laurie. Laurie is only 27. She’s been married less than three years. She doesn’t ask for help. Her friends are forcing it upon her.

So what we’re doing is creating a website called “The Laurie Project.” It’s at www.thelaurieproject.org. At this site, you can donate money directly to Laurie, if you want. But the goal for the site is to setup a little store. We’re inviting all our friends/family/strangers to donate any “crafty goodness” they can make. We sell those items and all of the profit goes to paying Laurie’s bills and getting her the medicine she desperately needs.
If you knit, crochet, do embroidery, make jewelry, take amazing photographs, draw really well, sew, etc… or you know people who do… please. Send me any extras you have. Make some things you think would sell. Send those to me. You won’t receive any money for them, but you will get a little free advertising (if you’re okay with that). And you will get to know that you’re helping to save the life of someone who would donate her skills to save yours.

And so, I am reaching out to you guys. If you can do anything, anything at all, please do. If you’re interested in what I’m giving away, I’ll post some pictures before I mail it all off to Caryn.
10 Responses to “Almost A Giveaway”

  1. Caryn January 7, 2008 at 6:21 pm #

    You continue to touch and move me with your support and kindness. Thank you so much for this.

  2. christavswonderwoman January 7, 2008 at 10:32 pm #

    That is so sweet, I will swing by in the nest few days and see what I can offer Laurie! x

  3. christavswonderwoman January 7, 2008 at 10:32 pm #

    I meant ‘next’, obv!

  4. rainypete January 8, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    Too cool! I can’t wait to see what wonderful things you come up with.

  5. charmedgirl January 8, 2008 at 11:58 am #

    i’m gonna start cleaning!!!

  6. girlinthecrosswalk January 8, 2008 at 12:00 pm #

    Oooo, Ooooo I can draw! What do I do?

  7. c. January 8, 2008 at 1:56 pm #

    I think this is a wonderful idea…I can shop like a mad-woman, if I have too ;o) I’m going to check out the site now…

    (I’m so sorry about your friend, Caryn, if you’re reading this).

  8. Caryn January 8, 2008 at 5:54 pm #

    charmedgirl – Thank you so much!!

    GITC – Thank you! How about making cards out of your drawings? That would be pretty cool… and easy to sell. Once you’ve got some, just ship ’em to me. Email me for my snail mail address and/or if you wanna chat about it. (caryn@noumena.org)

    C. — I am reading. Thank you. We’re scrambling to get the store setup, but I’ll make sure to send around some notes to let people know when it’s ready. From the response we’ve gotten so far, there will be PLENTY for you to shop for! 🙂

  9. girlinthecrosswalk January 8, 2008 at 6:41 pm #

    Sure! I’ll set to work on it straight away and email you once I have something. 🙂

  10. Rasee January 15, 2008 at 8:49 pm #

    As part of the Laurie Project I have to chime in and say a million thank you’s, from the bottom of our hearts. What a kind gesture this is. (And I’ve already called dibs on the purple Momma Goddess. Mine!) Thank you so much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

