The Last Laugh

11 Jan

My last day at work was great.  I had a little bit to do, a relatively decent temp to train, and a nice time saying goodbye.  I cleaned out my office and then sent out my goodbye email.

Me:  Hello all!  I wanted to send out a final email to everyone to say goodbye and thank you.  Working here has been a fantastic experience and I will miss each of you!  Thank you.  I wish all of you, as well as the organization, a fantastic future. 

Plucky New British Guy:   Even after a few short days – you will be missed – Your cheery and helpful presence shone like a beacon in the dreary, dark corners of the historic buildings and illuminated my otherwise confused passage through those creaky staircases… if you know what I mean.  Good luck with all those responsibilities and whatnot.

Me:  (responding also to a comment he made about the atrocities of American speech) And you say WE use too many superlatives!  🙂  I will certainly miss getting to know you as a coworker.

PNBG:  What is a cow orker?  Something you find on the WWW?

Me:  Thanks for the laugh… the last laugh, as it were. 

I crack me up.

5 Responses to “The Last Laugh”

  1. christavswonderwoman January 11, 2008 at 7:01 pm #

    Typical English guy! Good reponse H, I like your work there! And I adore you and everything you stand for x x

  2. rainypete January 12, 2008 at 12:42 am #

    Too funny. I love the sendoff!

    You don’t know of the “coworker”? It’s a Dilbert thing.

    Again I say, good luck on the new job.

  3. christavswonderwoman January 12, 2008 at 2:29 pm #

    I can’t wait to follow The Further Adventures of YSP in DC!

  4. KennethSF January 12, 2008 at 9:13 pm #

    I’m glad you had the last laugh. Somebody needs to put those plucky British guys in place 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Headlines « *batteries not included - January 20, 2008

    […] 20Jan08 My cow orkers (deliberate mistake, see Heather) don’t know they’re born.  They liken our boss to something out of The Devil Wears […]

Leave a Reply

