Dear Lunch Burglar…

15 Jan

This email went around at work today around 2pm:

I hope that whomever may have consumed my lunch fully appreciated it as much as I was about to do… capellini pasta with homemade sauce chock full of spices, tomatoes, and yummy tofurkey sausage. It was supposed to be my lunch yesterday, but some lovely friends took me out for a belated birthday lunch. So, the pasta was saved for today’s lunch. Oh well!

If you’re going to steal someone’s lunch (not that I’m promoting it), surely there was something much more exotic than leftover pasta! I guess the Tofurkey is kind of a delicacy (at least it’s priced like one!)

You must have needed it more than me. So, you can keep the Tupperware, too so that next time maybe you can bring your own lunch in it.

In karma,
Hungry Girl

How funny is that?  This is the sort of thing you miss when you work at a tiny company.

10 Responses to “Dear Lunch Burglar…”

  1. christavswonderwoman January 15, 2008 at 7:57 pm #

    I could never steal someone’s lunch! How awful it must taste knowing that it isn’t yours, wasn’t made by or for you – and besides, where do you eat it and hide the evidence? Weird.

    Love the email. She’s funny.

  2. c. January 15, 2008 at 8:52 pm #

    I’m sort of grossed out by the whole idea of eating someone else’s food, especially if I don’t know who it belongs too. Ick. Very funny email!!!

  3. irunwithscissors January 15, 2008 at 8:53 pm #

    ha.. thats too funny… what a great way yo handle the situation… it totally sucks that someone ate her lunch though…

  4. Sarah January 15, 2008 at 8:58 pm #

    I like the tone of your new workplace, even if there are food stealers…

    I lived in a sorority in college, and we went through a very…uhm…tense period of time when a lot of food (especially ice cream) went missing. It turned out that it was one of the guys who worked on the property, deliberately stealing the food and FILMING all the girls’ reactions. Cold, dude, seriously cold. Don’t mess with a woman’s ice cream.

  5. girlinthecrosswalk January 15, 2008 at 9:54 pm #

    Nice.

    “Marcus Agrippa made this.”

  6. Coggy January 16, 2008 at 2:02 am #

    Stealing someone’s lunch is just rude. I’m always intrigued by things like this because I can’t help wonder why how the person comes to the conclusion that it’s OK to eat someone else’s food. Very funny email response though!

  7. Diane Mandy January 16, 2008 at 5:12 am #

    Ha Ha! I wondered what happened to my Lean Cuisines, back in the day when I headed to an office. Now I know. This e-mail reminds me of one I saw in my Inbox back in the day. In our office atrium, we had a live bananna tree, which grew for years without producing fruit. One year it produced one bundle of banannas, which some poor soul swiped off the tree. The problem wasn’t the act of stealing the banannas, but that the tree had been treated with a toxic chemical–fatal if ingested. So, an e-mail went to the whole company of 5000 pleading with the person NOT to eat the banannas. Ripe, isn’t it?

  8. Mom January 16, 2008 at 8:27 am #

    She should put the same thing in the fridge again w/a little “seasoning” (I’m thinkin’ Ex-lax or such) and see who’s running to the potty lots….
    Now that’s MEAN..but I might do it.

  9. rainypete January 16, 2008 at 12:32 pm #

    We had a guy here at our shop who did this stuff all the time. I got serious revenge on him when I rigged a half liter bottle of diet coke with a mentos so when he opened it he got blasted. Worked like a charm. Why email when you can inflict??

  10. meg January 16, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    I love that email response. Yeah, stealing lunches from people is pretty low. I hope the culprit is found!!

Leave a Reply

