The Wheels on the Bus

16 Jan

This morning I took the commuter bus in to work.  I was concerned about it taking too much time, so I wanted to ride it at least once before I decided whether or not I needed to register for regular parking in the building.

Well…  It was FANTASTIC!!!  It did take a little bit longer, but it was so relaxed!  I didn’t have to drive or worry about traffic.  I drank my coffee in peace and then read my book for a while.  I even got in eight minutes of walking this morning, and will get twice that after work today.  So… relaxed commute and exercise… what could be better?

Oh yeah, the bus will save me tons of money!  It is about $20 less per month than a parking space, and it means no gas or upkeep on the car.  If we call the insurance company as well to tell them I am no longer driving to work, our rates will go down.

The bus is brilliant.  It gets me into work almost a half hour early too, so I am thinking about using that time to… WORK OUT!!!  I am going to be super thin before you know it!  🙂  (Don’t worry, I like food far too much to ever be “super thin.”  I am trying for healthy.)

10 Responses to “The Wheels on the Bus”

  1. christavswonderwoman January 16, 2008 at 9:26 am #

    I love the bus! Yey!

  2. girlinthecrosswalk January 16, 2008 at 9:46 am #

    Oh that’s exciting! You know what would be really exciting?! If they had a traaaaiiiinnn to take you to work. 🙂

  3. irunwithscissors January 16, 2008 at 10:09 am #

    YAY! Im so glad the bus is working out for you… it will be way easier than stressing about traffic and it sound like it is going to end up saving you a lot of money also… sounds like a win win situation to me!

  4. rainypete January 16, 2008 at 12:30 pm #

    I miss being able to take the bus to work. I’ve really got to find a job that isn’t an hour from home. The time you get to reclaim is unbelievable. I used to get so much reading and writing done but now I get little of either in.

  5. meg January 16, 2008 at 1:18 pm #

    I am so envious. I would love not to have to drive in the city! It sounds like a great way to start the day (and the walking too)

  6. Coggy January 16, 2008 at 5:00 pm #

    I think for me that is the only way exercise works. I have to build it into my normal day. I’m lucky that I can walk all the way to work or half way then catch the bus. It does work doing it that way for me. I love the bus too, I like watching people and listening to the conversations. It’s a much more relaxed way of getting round.

  7. Bre January 16, 2008 at 11:17 pm #

    I’m not good at public transportation really (control. issues.) but I always want to be… hmm…

  8. charmedgirl January 17, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    wow…you are just too good heather! you are my inspiration.
    did that just come off as insulting? i hope not because i’m totally serious! i am just such a royal disaster lately…

  9. Mom January 17, 2008 at 3:01 pm #

    The bus is definitely the way to go. I used to drive 1+ hour each way to work every day for over 20 years and it was no fun…STRESS!! Now I’m only 15 min away so no problem, but for a long commute….BUS or TRAIN

  10. Not So Little Sister January 17, 2008 at 3:11 pm #

    I love public transportation! I just with they offered more of it where I live. I took the bus for a little while in the spring and love the low-stress travel. I also love the starbucks that was between the bus stop and my office! 🙂

Leave a Reply

