Book Review #23

19 Jan

I’ve finally finished The Road to Delphi.  I am honestly not sure how to talk about my opinion of it.

I think I should start by saying that the writing is a little heavy handed, so if you don’t have a genuine academic interest in oracles, both historic and modern, then it probably isn’t for you.

I enjoyed it well enough.  I liked the academic aspect because it made my brain work, which doesn’t happen often enough these days.  It was full of interesting information on belief in oracles, ancient practices, and modern ties to old ways.

That being said, it was a little like reading a textbook.

Verdict: B-

Next up:

Galt Niederhoffer’s A Taxonomy of Barnacles

Leave a Reply

