Day Off

21 Jan

I am home from work today. We have a paid holiday in celebration of Martin Luther King Day.

I want to start by saying something about the importance of Dr. King’s contributions to the world. His concentration on nonviolent protest and the importance of universal acceptance gave so much positive to the world. I hope people take a moment today to think about connections… We are all people, human beings who are exactly the same at our most basic levels. I still don’t understand why we can’t just accept that for what it is and let the other things go. If you disagree with someone in terms of religious belief, political ideals, or anything else, why does that have to make a difference in how you treat them from day to day? I just don’t see it… and I don’t really want to.

So that’s my bit about MLK Day…

I am sitting on the couch, watching reruns of America’s Next Top Model in my pajamas, and it is glorious! I have no intention of doing anything more productive with my day…

UPDATE:  Should I be offended by this? I am not sure how I feel about my post being categorized as an “obliviously secular observation.” I am not even totally sure what “obliviously secular” is trying to say. Is he mad that I didn’t talk about God? I am certainly aware that Dr. King had a strong belief in God, and he made that clear in his speeches and his life. What I don’t see is how that applies to me. As long as I take from him the importance of acceptance, does it matter whether or not God is behind it? Maybe so… or maybe it is possible to be obliviously religious.

UPDATE #2:  Turns out I am just touchy.  There was nothing negative meant by the comment at all.  So, no worries!

5 Responses to “Day Off”

  1. girlinthecrosswalk January 21, 2008 at 3:11 pm #

    🙂 Geeeez. Nice! I second not being productive today. I’m still in my pajamas, sitting here, strummin’ my guitar.

    I also second MLK. It’s all about just goin’ with the flow…

  2. irunwithscissors January 21, 2008 at 4:39 pm #

    oh poo… ignore that…. god or not acceptance is the point… i think you summed it up beautifully!

  3. girlinthecrosswalk January 21, 2008 at 4:41 pm #

    hmmm… I don’t think I would be offended. It’s just someone who is giving an opinion. This person does not understand the importance of what you value of Dr. King’s lessons and sees those same lessons through a more narrow, religiously stenciled view. That’s ok too. It’s just another thought on something. I wouldn’t be offended by it at all. If being more accepting is being secular, then I think we should all be totally secular all of the time. 🙂

  4. tlh5852 January 21, 2008 at 6:51 pm #

    Well, I didn’t mean it offensively. By “obliviously secular observation” I simply meant that you are observing a secular holiday in a way that is oblivious to all else. It carries no judgment whatsoever.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Xpatriated Texan » RH - MLK - January 21, 2008

    […] The linger on the couch of a obliviously secular observation. […]

Leave a Reply

