Cube Living

23 Jan

I am halfway through week two and still loving my job.  I took pictures of the cube this morning, as requested, and will add them to this post sometime tonight or tomorrow.  Believe me, it is nothing exciting, but it serves its purpose well.  Of course I am going to have to go through the shots and be sure there is no incriminating evidence concerning where I work…

Sometimes it makes me sad that we live in a day and age where I have to be so careful about things like that.  As I am sure you can tell, I am the sort of person who would tell people just about anything…  I just don’t see the point in lots of social and personal boundaries.  Of course, there are things I don’t discuss with certain people, but mostly I am an open book.

Honestly, I think if anyone really tried hard enough, it wouldn’t be much of a challenge for them to figure out who I am… or who anyone else was either.  The internet is a fantastic place, but also a surreal version of the world.

I don’t know where I am going with this… so I will finish by saying that I am still loving my job.  And the free coffee.  Especially today, when I am super tired and have finally figured out which of the three blends they offer actually tastes good.

10 Responses to “Cube Living”

  1. girlinthecrosswalk January 23, 2008 at 12:11 pm #

    🙂 Dude, we can seriously just go check ourselves into the open book library. I personally LOVE that place. It’s somewhere that your not hiding and where you know other people aren’t either.

  2. Sarah January 23, 2008 at 2:08 pm #

    Weeee for free coffee. And boy do I feel you on saying too much to too many people. I’ll often finish talking and realize I’ve shared about 60% of my life story while whomever I’m talking to has pretty much just said she’d like a latte….

  3. ruby January 23, 2008 at 5:27 pm #

    Glad you’re still loving it! Its important to like where you work! Hope the love lasts a good long time!

  4. irunwithscissors January 23, 2008 at 7:44 pm #

    Yay for free coffee! and YAY for loving the job! So glad things are going so well!

  5. christavswonderwoman January 23, 2008 at 11:05 pm #

    I know what you mean about this day and age and having to protect ourselves. I obviously haven’t thought that one through, as I must be the easiest person in the world to find, given my job. Ah well, only about six people read me anyway and they are welcome anytime!

    Love that you are loving the job, that you have your own cube and that you get free coffee. You deserve all those things, and so much more.

    I love you Heather x

  6. KennethSF January 24, 2008 at 4:34 am #

    Free coffee can make life so much better at work. I used to work in a publishing house. You wouldn’t believe the queue before the coffee pot in the kitchen at 9 am.

  7. bleeding espresso January 24, 2008 at 9:23 am #

    Free coffee rules! And there are blends to boot! Woohoo!

  8. Rainypete January 24, 2008 at 12:55 pm #

    Free coffee!?!? No way! Glad you’re enjoying the new place, even if you are stuck in a cube.

    As to the internet, it’s the world distilled down. A place where the fun is more fun and the nuts get extra nuttier!

  9. shockingfish January 24, 2008 at 4:48 pm #

    Well Im rather glad that I can talk freely about my job – it makes me laugh (and sometimes cry) when I look around and see all manor of vibrating tat. I sometimes wonder how Im going to cope when I get a new job?

    sf xxx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Just Like A Pill (Or The One Where I Talk About Periods. And Knickers.) « Wondy Woman - January 25, 2008

    […] other news, I thought a little on what H had to say about privacy a few days ago and I realised just how naive I am sometimes.  Anyone could hunt me down if they […]

Leave a Reply

