Updates…

4 Feb

I have recently realized I never updated about my sister (not the stylist, the trouble maker) and her baby.  In case anyone was concerned, they came home from the hospital healthy and fine.  Makayla is still doing well and growing as she should be.  I don’t think Ashley is adjusting very well to being a mother, and it is possible that she will lose custody of the baby to the dad’s parents…….  I imagine you can all understand why I try to think of her situation as little as possible.

Saturday’s dinner was both good and bad.  It was wonderful to see Amanda, and great to meet her boyfriend, who I loved.  Her friends seemed pretty cool as well, and we went to a fabulous Turkish restaurant where the food was great.  Our waiter was new and, therefore, a little scattered, but he made up for it in the end by not charging us for a couple of small things.  The only snags in the evening were when the bill came, and people really didn’t put in enough cash.  I forget sometimes that when you go out with a group, you must ALWAYS ask for a separate check or you will suffer with that sort of thing.  Otherwise, we had a small scare when we thought we’d been locked out of the parking garage, but in the end we got out just fine and came home to a good night’s sleep.

Last night I started thinking about taking a dance class again.  I used to dance a lot, mostly ballet… but it has been YEARS since I did anything seriously.  I thought about taking ballet, or belly dancing maybe.  I have done belly dancing once before and got super frustrated when I hit a point where things became VERY difficult for me to do for whatever reason… so I am hesitant to try it again.  Ballet, on the other hand, is pretty tough when you are terribly out of shape.  I also worry about the cost of a dance class when we are trying so hard to save money.  I am going to look at options today and see what I might be able to do without terrible cost.

Finally, I weighed in again today.  I usually do it on Tuesdays but have decided to switch to Mondays for no real reason.  I gained again, am super frustrated, and have essentially lost all motivation to continue dieting.   I am still trying to do it, but the heart has gone out of it for me.  I don’t know what I should do.  I started out doing one particular set of meal plans, and then switched to one that is easier to track and has about 200 less calories per day, and now I am gaining…. I don’t really know how I gain when eating less food (since I know it is still a healthy amount of calories and not a severe lack of food), and now I am wondering if I should go back to the original plan, which seemed better.

I am generally cranky and frustrated.  Sorry for the lack of happy… again.  I promise to find my smile in a post sometime soon.  I swear I am, overall, still quite happy.  This is just a good place for me to vent/rant/complain.

4 Responses to “Updates…”

  1. irunwithscissors February 4, 2008 at 8:30 am #

    i believe that you are over all quite happy… blogging is just a great way to get it all out! I know its tough, but stick to the diet and you will pull through, although switching back to the first meal plan might now be a bad idea since that one seemed to work better for you. You can do it! Love you!

  2. Coggy February 4, 2008 at 12:28 pm #

    Don’t give up Heather. I reckon go back to the first one. Sometimes you can take in too few calories and your body just starts hoarding. Also with the time of the month water retention fluctuations can cause lbs to be out.
    It’s so frustrating, I do more exercise and eat better and end up staying the same weight plus or minus a couple of lbs. I don’t know maybe having a baby does mess with the metabolism 🙂

  3. Rainypete February 4, 2008 at 12:41 pm #

    Stick to what works in my opinion. If the first one was working for you then it’s the better way to go. Sure the other one was easier to track but what’s more frustrating? The first system or the weight gain??

    As for the lack of happy…..chin up. People who are happy all the time scare the hell out of me (really creep me out if they have no emotional depth). Too many remakes of invasion of the body snatchers for me I guess.

  4. Brandi February 4, 2008 at 1:36 pm #

    I should always read your blog before I e-mail you, because I always have tons of responses to it!

    I don’t think you should give up on the diet either, H. If the first one worked for you, by all means, go back to it. Sometimes your body needs more calories than you think it does. Consuming calories with protein or calcium based foods are going to help you lose more weight than the same amount of calories in other food.

    I wish one diet plan worked for everyone, but it isn’t that easy. You know Weight Watchers worked for me – mostly the meeting aspect of it, but I know that costs money. 😦 I’m here for you, hon. If I can do anything, let me know. I love you!! ❤

Leave a Reply

