Dodge the Bullet

8 Feb

Okay, first things first:  I do NOT have cancer.  God should be pleased, as this means I can continue to acknowledge the existence of a better world.

I walked in, explained my pain, and was immediately told that it was impossible that I had cysts in my ovaries, despite my history with them.  At this point I realized that my doctor, who I have being seeing with some regularity for two years and who did my initial cyst removal surgeries, did not have any idea who I was.  For some reason, though I realize how many people he must see every day, this hurt my feelings.  I wish he had at least read my file or something.

Anyway, he went on to explain why the pill makes it nearly impossible to develop ovarian cysts and that my problem was almost certainly a gastrointestinal issue to be handled by my regular doctor.  I reminded him that I had been on the pill for years before I got cysts the last time.

Doctor: And what happened then?

Me:  I had to have them removed.

Doctor: And who did that surgery?

Me: ……  You.

At this point he paused, and then claimed to suddenly remember me.  Maybe he did, maybe he didn’t.

So, we started up the ultrasound machine.  I imagine at least some of you might realize that the ultrasound machine was a little hard for me, what with the lack of baby…

He wanders around with the ultrasound wand and, LO AND BEHOLD, finds ovarian cysts.  What?  What’s that?  Oh, I TOLD YOU SO?  Yeah, that’s what I thought.

So… I have cysts again, but not any that are a concern at all in terms of cancer.  In some ways it is reassuring to know that I have them again and not something else, since I have dealt with this before.  I go back in a month to discover whether the cysts are shrinking or growing.  Worst case scenario is that they grow too much and have to be removed.  There is a tiny risk then that an ovary will have to be removed, but that is it.

ZERO risk of cancer, because the cysts are liquid.  Dangerous cysts are the solid ones.  So for now, I just get to deal with the pain, take a lot of Tylenol, and hope it doesn’t get worse.

Though there is no medical reason to feel this way, I can’t help that this makes me feel a little more hurried about getting pregnant again…….

8 Responses to “Dodge the Bullet”

  1. Caryn February 8, 2008 at 1:42 pm #

    I’m so glad you pressed him about the cysts. I’m sorry you have them, but am VERY happy they’re not cancerous. I’m sending happy thoughts and love your way.

  2. Not So Little Sister February 8, 2008 at 2:26 pm #

    Glad it’s “just” cysts. Sorry you have them but glad you know what they are. Hoping the shrink up on their own!

  3. meg February 8, 2008 at 4:09 pm #

    O.K., so this is good news. I don’t know much about cysts, but I think they are very common. I sure hope that you feel better soon (i.e. no more pain).

    As for going for the u/s, I know. I had to go last month. I sat in the cubicle and cried a little. They will always have that association for us…and it’s just not easy to go through them.

  4. Wondy February 8, 2008 at 4:32 pm #

    Thank God for that my darling, I am so glad for you. Not about the pain, obv. but you know. I am very sorry that the session with your doc brought up some painful memories and feelings, but sometimes I guess what have to face these things so that we can move on, in your case confronting a medical issue that is causing you pain. Proud of you my love. Now, here’s to getting better x x

  5. Amy February 8, 2008 at 5:05 pm #

    Well, that is great news, about not having cancer that is! The cysts on the other hand that sucks! Your doctor sounds like most! You are just another $ sign to him, for that I am sorry! I am glad that you went though and found out what was wrong. Good luck in whatever you decide, hurry up or wait!

  6. girlinthecrosswalk February 8, 2008 at 5:58 pm #

    🙂 HOORAYYYY FOR REGULAR CYSTS!!!!! Well, you know not “hooray” in the hooray you have cysts way, but just the hooray everything is ok way. 🙂

  7. irunwithscissors February 8, 2008 at 9:59 pm #

    good to hear everything is ok… but i think that was way crappy of your doctor… they should always read the charts before talking to you.. I know they see way to many people to remember them all… but come on! Bet he felt like an ass when you told him he did the surgery!

  8. Coggy February 9, 2008 at 4:31 pm #

    I’m so glad it was good news. Hooray for regular cysts indeed.
    I would have been upset that the doc didn’t remember me either. I don’t care how many people they see they could just read the file.

Leave a Reply

