Barrelhead

11 Feb
Roll out the barrel, We’ll have a barrel of fun — Beer Barrel Polka

I am still suffering from some kind of stuffyheadedness that is making me feel like my head is encased in a barrel and, therefore, slightly out of touch with the sounds and sensations of the outside world. I don’t, however, feel particularly bad.

I am not enjoying how cold it is today, since the weekend was nice and relatively warm, but otherwise I am feeling alright. I went to the gym this morning and… wait, what? I went to the gym?

That’s right!!! I WENT TO THE GYM! I spent my free half hour this morning on the treadmill. Well, fifteen minutes on the treadmill, three on the cool down, another ten stretching and doing 25 crunches, and the rest rushing around trying to change, comb my hair, and put on a little makeup without being late to my desk. I sat down at 9:01, so perfect!!!

I was a little intimidated, since there were several of these in the gym:

while I am definitely still one of these:

All the same, I stuck with it and tried to ignore them. I find I push myself way too hard if I try to keep up with the gym rats. Instead, I did a good steady fifteen minutes on a great program that monitors my heart rate and adjusts the incline and speed to keep it in the target range!

I am going to try to go again at lunch, but we’ll see how I am feeling. I might do only mornings this week, until I beat this cold.

3 Responses to “Barrelhead”

  1. Tara February 11, 2008 at 11:35 am #

    Yay! Congrats for making it to the gym. I know what you mean. I am definitely still the second picture, but I’m in there workin’ it and that’s all that matters. You should find you feel a little more alert/awake than normal, at least I do most days.

  2. Brandi February 11, 2008 at 12:41 pm #

    I am so proud of you, H. It was a huge step to do this and I believe in you. You’re on the path. *hugs* I hope you are feeling 100 times better today. ❤

  3. Caryn February 11, 2008 at 3:11 pm #

    That is so awesome! Good for you! I know it sucks right now, but hang in there. It’ll get easier. Might even start to feel good eventually. 🙂

    Hope you get over your cold quickly. *hug*

Leave a Reply

