On Human Thought

11 Feb
How can it be that mathematics, being after all a product of human thought which is independent of experience, is so admirably appropriate to the objects of reality? Is human reason, then, without experience, merely by taking thought, able to fathom the properties of real things. — Thomas Edison

My mom just sent me this quote, which of course prompted me to blog about it. Of course I don’t think we can be sure of what Thomas Edison intended for us to take from his words.

I choose to take from it, in the end, the belief that we can do anything. Our minds are so powerful and so ready for a challenge that we, if we apply ourselves, are able to comprehend anything. We can be in control. We CAN make things happen.

So what does this mean for me? I can get on the treadmill, no matter what a part of me says about it being unpleasant. I CAN put down the bad for me foods. I am a very smart girl, and I know what I need to do, so it is time for me to step up.

It is time for me to leave behind all of the useless, worthless, and harmful excuses. I do NOT need a cookie, though I can have one sometimes. I do NOT have anything better to do at 8:30 in the morning than get on that treadmill for fifteen minutes. There is NO reason not to do this, and to do it right.

So get out there. Fire up your awesome, powerful brains and DO IT… whatever it is, just DO IT!

2 Responses to “On Human Thought”

  1. Not So Little Sister February 11, 2008 at 12:21 pm #

    Sounds like you are heading in the right direction. Sometimes it takes me awhile to get motivated to do something I know I should. But once you start to see results, you’ll be motivated to keep it up. Maybe you should hurry up and buy that nano so you can take it to the gym with you. 🙂

  2. Tara J. February 11, 2008 at 2:48 pm #

    Dr. Oz said on TV that when people quit smoking, if they say “don’t smoke,” that reinforces the word “smoke” in their brains and feeds their addiction. So he suggested thinking “Breathe free” instead. I’m wondering if instead of saying you “can’t have a cookie” you say you “really want green beans.” ??? Maybe that would help, too? 🙂

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

