Wise or Weenie?

11 Feb

I am not good at making my own choices when it comes to health and fitness, so I am turning to you, my webfriends.

Is it fair to only do my fifteen minutes in the morning on the treadmill this week, due to this headcold that makes me all poundy and cranky?  Can I wait until next week to add in lunch workouts?  Should I suck it up and try to do another fifteen to twenty minutes at lunch too?

Please be honest, but also nice.

12 Responses to “Wise or Weenie?”

  1. Not So Little Sister February 11, 2008 at 4:17 pm #

    I say it’s okay to only do mornings as long as you have a headcold. As soon as you start feeling better you should add in the lunch time workouts. The longer you delay doing them, the harder they will be to add in. Those are my therapists words, not mine. 🙂 Feel better!

  2. brookem February 11, 2008 at 4:21 pm #

    Hi there- this is the first time I’ve commented here, so I’m not sure if I’m at the point where it’s okay to go delving out advice to bloggers who I’ve never visited before!

    But, I figure, I’ve seen you around a few of the same blogs I frequent, and that makes this nice little hello and jump right into it kind of way of things okay.

    I say, if you have a cold, just do what feels good. I have read that if it’s just a headcold, that you can still workout, and it shouldn’t make you sicker. I say? That’s kind of crap. Because I’ve been head cold-y before, and worked out, then felt wicked WIPED out. So, I think, if you workout in the am, and feel up to a lunch time thing go for it. But don’t push it. You’re doing a great thing just getting at it in the morning! (Um, that sounds kinky). Sorry, you probably have this really weird, odd view of me now.

    Looking forward to reading more of you!

  3. Tara J. February 11, 2008 at 5:35 pm #

    hard on yourself much, H? Sheesh. I think there are no rules. And you should work on filling yourself with confidence of this sort: I know what I need. I know what’s best for my body. My body tells me what it needs. And I will listen.

    Then you don’t have to ask us. 🙂

  4. girlinthecrosswalk February 11, 2008 at 5:49 pm #

    WISE. Actually, I think I would hold off completely until feeling better and then start with mornings and add lunch the following week…

    <3s!

  5. meg February 11, 2008 at 6:21 pm #

    Don’t push yourself if you have a cold. Just take care of yourself.

  6. egan February 11, 2008 at 7:21 pm #

    I found you via Brookem. I think you’re totally good with the 15 minutes in the morning. This time of year it’s hard to find any time to workout so kudos to your for your fifteen.

    One more thing, wow… you’re truly amazing. I saw your upper right hand corner and lost it. Words can’t even begin to express how I’d feel in your shoes.

  7. Chica February 11, 2008 at 7:50 pm #

    Only you know your body and what you can take/feel up to, but of course it is fair if you’re feeling crappy. Definitely wise! Take care, hope you feel better x

  8. Wondy February 11, 2008 at 8:57 pm #

    Yes yes and well, yep – I am pretty sure you shouldn’t be doing anything too strenuous whilst you feel like poo, I think there is a rule somewhere at the gym about it. At least I hope there is.

    Obv, I am the guru of fitness so I say rest, listen to your body and rest again x

  9. Caryn February 11, 2008 at 10:45 pm #

    Okay, I have a bit of experience here. I’ve been sick for two weeks. Several times I started to feel better and I went to the gym and tried to run. BAD IDEA. The last time, I had a coughing fit that made James ask if he should pull the car over.

    Take it easy ’til you’re feeling better… your body needs your extra energy to heal. *hugs*

  10. irunwithscissors February 11, 2008 at 11:41 pm #

    I dont think its a good idea to push yourself when you arent feeling well… if you want, try going at lunch too but listen to your body… it will tell you if its too much!

  11. Amy February 12, 2008 at 8:40 am #

    I wouldn’t push to hard with the cold thing! You may make it worse. Just do what you feel is right! Hey, your taking advice from a woman who can’t get off her own butt to exercise so you do what’s right for you!

  12. bastet3 February 12, 2008 at 11:32 am #

    If you’re sick, then just stick to the morning workouts. Plus, you should ease into exercise too, not just all of a sudden work out 5 times a day. You’ll stick with it longer if you gradually increase it. So I’d say when your cold goes away, then add in the lunch time walk. Or what I did when I worked in the city, I walked a few blocks away to the park and ate my lunch there and then walked back. This way you can enjoy being outside if it’s a nice day, and you get some exercise too!

Leave a Reply

