A Finite Number of Heartbeats*

27 Feb
To resist the frigidity of old age one must combine the body, the mind and the heart – and to keep them in parallel vigor one must exercise, study and love. — Karl von Bonstetten
 
This morning I spent TWENTY minutes (instead of fifteen) on the treadmill and did 30 crunches instead of 25.  I can tell I am starting to get used to exercising, and my overall ability and endurance is definitely improving.
 
In fact, yesterday something very odd happened.  I woke up feeling tired and a little off, and I really did not want to exercise at all.  When the bus hit traffic and I ended up so late coming in that I only had time to change into my work clothes, I was pleased because it meant I could excuse myself from my workout for the day.  I thought about working out at lunch, but I just really wanted a day off.
 
When lunch came, I suddenly found myself on the treadmill!  It’s like I was on autopilot.  Some part of me did not want to be there, but some clearly more powerful part of me treated the situation as though I had no other option.  I literally felt powerless to do anything but go to the gym.  
 
It was cool.
 
I read somewhere that you have to do something sixty times within a relatively small window of time for it to truly become a habitual act.  I haven’t even been doing this for 30 days yet, so I don’t think I am quite there, but I can really see it becoming a part of my day.  It is such a neat feeling! 
 
*title from this quote by Buzz Aldrin
3 Responses to “A Finite Number of Heartbeats*”

  1. niobe February 27, 2008 at 2:42 pm #

    Good for you!

  2. Not So Little Sister February 27, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    Glad working out is becoming part of your routine. It must feel amazing. It is always hardest to just get me to the gym or yoga studio or in my work out clothes at home. Once I’m there it’s great and I love it. The countdown to the nano is down to five days. Pretty exciting!

  3. Caryn February 27, 2008 at 8:46 pm #

    That’s so great!

Leave a Reply

