A Question of No Importance

27 Feb
The important thing is not to stop questioning.Albert Einstein
 
The other day I got an email from a girl I had class with a couple of semesters back.  She had to drop the class we shared based on some medical issues, and was writing to ask if I still had the notes since she was retaking the course this semester.  I sent her my notes for the class and she thanked me.
 
Suddenly today I am overwhelmed by the urge to email the professor and tell her about it.  I can’t figure out why, but I think it might have something to do with vague notions of this student not working entirely on her own ability, and now having something of an unfair advantage and/or excuse not to attend class.
 
Before you shrug this off because they are just class notes, you should know that I am  a ridiculously thorough note-taker who has been PAID to take notes several times.  My class notes are, for all intents and purposes, transcripts of the lectures.
 
I wasn’t going to send the professor a random tattle-tale email either.  I was thinking something along the lines of a hello, how are you, I was thinking of you because I got this email… sort of thing.  She was a great professor after all, and I wouldn’t mind knowing how she is.
 
Am I a total neurotic?
8 Responses to “A Question of No Importance”

  1. Not So Little Sister February 27, 2008 at 9:27 pm #

    I’m neurotic too…something I would definitely consider. If it’s going to make you feel better, email the prof. I think the, how you? got an email that made me think of you and thought I’d check in thing is a good way to go…

  2. Bre February 27, 2008 at 10:46 pm #

    It can’t hurt to email them, and it will be off your worry list!

  3. girlinthecrosswalk February 27, 2008 at 10:53 pm #

    I don’t think it’s an unfair advantage at all. As someone registered with Disability Services I can have a paid note taker if I want one. If she was having medical issues and stuff she’s probably registered there and could get a note taker anyway. So, it’s not really unfair as much as it is saving the university money… which doesn’t have much to do with either the student or the prof. But, if it makes you feel better, email away. It’s not really all that neurotic.

  4. niobe February 28, 2008 at 7:15 am #

    What everyone else said. Definitely do it if it would make you feel better.

  5. Chica February 28, 2008 at 8:08 am #

    A lot of universities post lecture transcripts online now anyway and students can just get them from there, but they are your notes so it depends what you are comfortable with. She still has to do the work of her own ability right?

  6. Amy February 28, 2008 at 10:18 am #

    I would have to agree with everyone else. If the girl can’t work on her own merits then, she needn’t be working at all!

    Love the new look of the blog, especially the tat at the top!

  7. c. February 28, 2008 at 10:53 am #

    I think if it makes you feel better, you should email her. But (but always means ignore the statement that came before it, doesn’t it?), I tend to agree with girl in the crosswalk and chica. I hate feeling guilty though, for whatever reason.

  8. Wondy February 28, 2008 at 6:54 pm #

    Not silly at all, you worked hard for those notes, I think you have every right to be cautious. Good for you, I say x

Leave a Reply

