What I Did…

28 Feb

I emailed. I wrote exactly this:

Dr. Teacher-Lady —

Hi! I don’t know if you’d remember me… YSP? I took your Survey 2 and History of Photography classes… sat in front, typed LOTS of notes? I recently got an email from one of your current students asking if I still had my History of Photography notes, and that got me thinking about how much I enjoyed your classes. Now that I’ve graduated, I guess I just wanted to say thanks. I don’t think professors hear it often enough, and you certainly deserve it with all you put up with and all you do for us! So thank you. Your classes were always interesting and fun, and I really enjoyed them.

I hope you’re doing well!

I should say that I meant EVERY WORD of the email. I really did enjoy her classes, and I truly believe that college professors work a very difficult and thankless job, and they ought to be told when they are appreciated and thought of.

So this way, if she thinks the notes thing is an issue, she will ask me who the student was. Otherwise, it just opens up the chance for a friendly dialogue with an appreciated academic.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In other news, I am awesome. I know… you knew that already, right? I did twenty minutes again on the treadmill this morning, but managed to up the speed from 3.4 to 3.6. It might not be much, but it definitely means I am making progress! I cannot wait to weigh in again tomorrow morning!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I leave in 32 hours to see my family in Florida! Daddy hugging, Mommy smooching, brother teasing, and comfortingly warm weather should be a wonderful way to keep myself from totally losing it on Monday. Of course, I will really miss Aaron, but for this I think I need my Mommy.

Oh how I miss you, little man.

4 Responses to “What I Did…”

  1. Not So Little Sister February 28, 2008 at 12:05 pm #

    Sounds like what I would’ve done. Yay for you and your treadmillin’ ways. 🙂

    I want to go to Florida…I need some warmth. It’s cold here. 😦

  2. Bre February 28, 2008 at 2:04 pm #

    Makes some good sense, I’d say! 🙂 I’m glad you were able to find a happy medium and a good way to communicate with the instructor!

  3. Amy February 28, 2008 at 7:23 pm #

    Nice letter, I’m sure more Professors wish they had students like you!

    Yes, you are awesome would you please send your motivation my way?!

    Have a decent trip! I would say good but I know what the week will bring. I will be thinking of you and sending you hugs! I should say, I will be thinking of YOU, AODIN, and AARON!

    Take care! Be safe!

  4. girlinthecrosswalk February 29, 2008 at 1:04 am #

    🙂

Leave a Reply

