Florida Fun

2 Mar

I am having a wonderful time in Florida with my family.  They picked me up after a pretty good flight on Friday night, and I went home to a comfortable night’s sleep.

Saturday morning we got up, made a fantastic breakfast with turkey bacon and eggs, and headed out.  We went to Mazzaro’s Italian Market and it was AWESOME.  The wine room was amazing, the cheese selection was fantastic, and we had a delicious lunch with awesome fresh sandwiches and a beautiful environment.  We also brought home fresh pasta and pastries.  After dropping off our goodies at home, we headed back out to the Fine Arts Museum.  It was small but absolutely beautiful with a great collection.  In the gift shop I found the Greatest. Sounvenir. Ever……

That’s right, String Spartacus, or Stringacus for short.  After the museum, we went down to the pier and checked out an awesome wine shop.  We did a wine tasting, bought an awesome Blueberry Pinot Noir made at a local winery, and I also finally got a cute wine stopper for home.  I picked up some key lime and orange flavored coconut dipped in dark chocolate to bring home for Aaron.

Last night we had a birthday party for me.  My aunt and cousin came over, we had awesome Italian cream cake, and drank LOTS of wine!  It was a lot of fun, and we had great grilled hamburgers thanks to my Daddy.

Today we’re having brunch with another cousin and her family, and then doing some sightseeing before having dinner out near the beach somewhere nearby.  I’ll upload my millions of pictures (lots of pelicans…) as soon as I get home. 

I cannot tell you how therapeutic it is to be here with my Mommy, who came in this morning and laid in bed with me for an hour while we talked about anything and everything.  It was good for my heart.

10 Responses to “Florida Fun”

  1. Amy March 2, 2008 at 9:06 am #

    I am glad to hear you are having a great time. It is so nice to have a Mom who cares that much isn’t it?! Enjoy the rest of your trip. I am thinking of you.

  2. Not So Little Sister March 2, 2008 at 11:43 am #

    Glad you are having a good time!!! I’m jealous at how warm it must be there. Have a safe trip home.

  3. niobe March 2, 2008 at 3:54 pm #

    Sounds like a great birthday party and a great trip.

  4. Brandi March 2, 2008 at 10:22 pm #

    Aww! This post made me so happy, H. I’m glad you are having a great weekend so far. Enjoy your birthday and flight tomorrow. I love you lots! ❤

  5. irunwithscissors March 2, 2008 at 11:48 pm #

    so glad to hear your having such a great time!

  6. Amy March 3, 2008 at 8:26 am #

    Thinking of you today and sending you hugs.

  7. bastet3 March 3, 2008 at 5:24 pm #

    A string Spartacus may just be the coolest thing ever.

  8. Bre March 3, 2008 at 6:38 pm #

    I am so good that you are there with your Momma and having some good, healing time!

  9. rainypete March 3, 2008 at 11:56 pm #

    I want a String Spartacus too. They look awesome! There’s nothing quite as a therapeutic as a good Mom is there?

    I’m glad you’re having a good time down there and Happy Birthday too!

  10. c. March 4, 2008 at 11:11 am #

    Happy to hear you are having a good time. XO.

Leave a Reply

