Birthday Plus One

4 Mar

The rest of my Florida weekend was fantastic. My flight was easy and uneventful, and it was wonderful to come home to Aaron. We had a great lunch out and spent the evening relaxing.

I also got a fantastic package of birthday presents from my awesome friend Brandi!
03.03.08 From Brandi 1

Today, on the other hand, was… less good.  I woke up sad because I realized how much I am missing my parents.  I then went to the doctor to get another scan of my cyst.

Turns out… it has grown by 5 centimeters since last month.  I now have to schedule a surgery to have it removed.  There is a small chance it is actually not a cyst but my fallopian tube folding in on itself.  If so, it has to be removed.  The doctor also informed me today that every time I have cysts, it increases the chances that I will have to have my ovary removed.  If either bit of my reproductive system is removed, it negatively impacts my future fertility.  Even if nothing is removed in this surgery, I am guaranteed consistent recurrence of cysts, every one of which increases the risk of important bit removal.

Not pleased.

5 Responses to “Birthday Plus One”

  1. Not So Little Sister March 4, 2008 at 5:49 pm #

    Oh damn, Heather. Hopefully the damage is minor. You don’t need this…not right now, not ever. 😦 Keep us posted. When is the surgery?

  2. Bre March 4, 2008 at 6:23 pm #

    Oh, Heather! I’m glad that your birthday was lovely, but I’m so sorry to hear about all of your medical concerns. Remember – no matter how you build your family it will be full of love, that I know for certain!

    You’ll be in my thoughts!

  3. girlinthecrosswalk March 5, 2008 at 3:06 am #

    boooooooo to that! Why do doctors always wanna be yankin’ out your girl parts for?!?!??!?!? J/k But, much love your way. ❤ you! And HAPPY BIRTHDAY….. we need to get together for cupcakes and so you can get your thing I got you……. 🙂

  4. Amy March 5, 2008 at 8:20 am #

    Heather, I am glad that you had a good birthday. I am sorry you are missing your parents, it’s a difficult situation I’m sure to not have them right there. I don’t think I could do it!

    The medical thing makes me cringe…I don’t really have words for that one. I’m angry for you that you have to be put through this. I am thinking of you.

  5. Hailerstar March 11, 2008 at 4:18 am #

    You may not want to hear this but having the cyst taken out before it ruptures is a really really good thing. (My mom had a cyst rupture and she ended up bleeding into her belly and they almost lost her) The end result was that they had to take out that ovary but she did conceive twice after that. (This was before my middle brother and myself were born when she had the rupture).
    I love ya and you’ll be in my thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

