A Premature Resignation

6 Mar

Okay.

I went to the gym at lunch, and now I am feeling a little better about things.  I think it’s the endorphins I’ve just dumped into my body… but it is also a feeling that at least I am in control of something around here…

I managed thirteen minutes on the bike and another five on the eliptical.  Not thrilling, but something at least.   Another way to control things?  Eating better.  Since I have been crap about cooking lately, I have gone back to the old standby of frozen lunches, the Weight Watchers and Lean Cuisine meals.  I know they are not great in terms of sodium and such, but at least they are better than my other options and usually provide me with a sneaky serving of veggies.

Well, Smart Ones has come out with a new line called “Fruit Inspirations,” and I have tried all of them now so I figured I’d review.

First up, Honey Mango Barbecue Chicken.  I am rating just on taste here, and I have to say this was my least favorite.  Something about the sauce is just not quite right…

Cranberry Turkey Medallions… I love me some cranberry, and turkey is pretty high on my list too.  This one was better than the mango stuff, but still a little off.  The stuffing tasted funny I think.  When I was flying to Florida, I got a deli sandwich in the airport that was roasted turkey breast with cranberry relish and celery salt, and that ROCKED so I am going to have to look into making that instead.

Pineapple Beef Terriyaki.  This one is pretty good and really filling.  The beef is good quality, not too chewy or weird texture-wise, so I was pretty happy with this one and bought it again.

Orange Sesame Chicken, you are awesome.  This one was hands down my favorite.  I think it has the most calories too, but it tasted like good Chinese food and therefore did not make me feel so much like I was eating something good for me!  The sauce is nice and rich too…  LOVE!

So that’s MY opinion on these.  My other new love is the Soy Bites from Crum Creek.  I got the sampler box here, paid $16 total, and got 5 bags each of their flavors:

  • Remarkable Rosemary and Garlic
  • Superb Sesame
  • Outrageous Onion
  • Everything!

I tried the Everything! yesterday and loved them.  This morning I had the Rosemary & Garlic… good too, but less texture and lots of garlic breath!  🙂  They are sort of like little pretzel bites, or the little sticks in Chex mix.  I think I’ll try the sesame this afternoon.  They only have 105 calories per little bag, which really has quite a few bites in there!

All in all, I am feeling a lot better.  I think some applesauce and soy bites should be enough to get me through the afternoon and home to my precious husband.

4 Responses to “A Premature Resignation”

  1. Amy March 6, 2008 at 2:28 pm #

    I’ve never been a fan of the S.O. frozen dinners. However the LC Panini Sandwiches are pretty good. I’ll have to try the sesame chicken although since it doesn’t come with a Crab Rangoon attached I may not like it! Thank you for the review! Hope you are having a better day today.

  2. Amy March 6, 2008 at 2:29 pm #

    I’m sorry I hope your day gets better is what I meant to say!

  3. Not So Little Sister March 6, 2008 at 5:02 pm #

    Glad you’re doing better. Thanks for the review of the smart ones. I eat lean cuisines because they are cheaper than eating out and easy to bring and eat at work.

  4. CLC March 6, 2008 at 7:58 pm #

    I tried to run on a treadmill today. I lasted 10 minutes running and then I had to walk. I am so dreading the chore of getting back into shape.

    FYI, I tried the lean cuisine flatbread sandwich for lunch today and it was actually pretty good.

    Hope tomorrow is better.

Leave a Reply

