Perfect Innocence

10 Mar

My beautiful friend Rachel has two perfect kids. You’d never guess it to look at her…

jacandrachel

Uh huh… that’s her on the right. The other girl is her sister, who also has a child. Envious beauty aside, Rachel is one of my favorite friends. She also has two of the most beautiful, intelligent, sweet kids in the world. As we sat at our annual Melting Pot dinner last night, we talked about the fact that she told her kids about Aodin. I sent out announcements after Aodin was born, and she kept hers and stores it in her memory box. I was so touched by that, but even more by her children’s reaction.

Her son is a little older, so he already knows what a baby usually looks like, and he recognized the difference in Aodin but without any fear or disgust. He daughter, at only three, reacted differently.

I first met this little girl when I babysat for Rachel while we were both in Rome. Then, she looked like this:
avatriestolookinnocent

Now she looks a little older, but no less beautiful:
IMG_1562

And what did this little princess of a girl think of my sweet man?  Rachel says she picked up the announcement, gasped, and said “Oh Mommy, he’s so cute.”  So there you go.

For all of us whose babies don’t quite look as expected, they ARE still beautiful.  When someone is innocent, without all of the ridiculous pressures and preconceptions of society, they know… our angels are beautiful and perfect.

7 Responses to “Perfect Innocence”

  1. Mom March 10, 2008 at 9:18 pm #

    Hmmmm…I guess I’m innocent because I definitely know your angel is so beautiful and perfect…makes my heart SING!!!!

  2. Mom March 10, 2008 at 9:18 pm #

    Ummmm…PS; Rachel’s little girl is soooooo gorgeous..what a doll-baby!!

  3. irunwithscissors March 10, 2008 at 10:54 pm #

    so true sister! and he is beautiful!

  4. Amy March 11, 2008 at 8:49 am #

    Children are amazing! My niece said the same thing about William and took his pictures home with her and put one in her bedroom, she’s 5. Both kids (Niece and Nephew) reacted with innocence and care. I love them for that. I love them for many reasons but the fact that they shared in Williamn with me, makes me love them all the more.

    On a side note, thank you for pointing that out to me, I had forgotten how much I loved them and need them in my life!

  5. Amy March 11, 2008 at 8:50 am #

    p.s., obviously I can’t spell! I added an n to Williams name, of course, the tears obstructed my view!

  6. CLC March 11, 2008 at 5:20 pm #

    That’s really heartwarming. And it’s so true- kids don’t censor themselves and will really tell you how they feel.

  7. Wondy March 13, 2008 at 9:12 pm #

    You can always count on perfect honesty from a child and I love that. They never hesitate to tell you the truth – and boy, is that little girl right. Love it. It’s made me smile. A lot.

Leave a Reply

