Findian Food

17 Mar

I love Indian food, but I have no idea how to make it and I certainly don’t have the stock of spices I would need…

So this is my fake Indian, or Findian, dinner. It’s chickpeas with a little tomato paste, cumin, curry powder, red pepper, and paprika over orzo. I would have preferred it over jasmine rice, but I always forgot how long the rice takes to cook… so orzo.

As odd as it is, it was actually quite good!

2 Responses to “Findian Food”

  1. Rasee March 18, 2008 at 12:34 am #

    1 cup rice = 1.5 cups water
    2 cups rice = 2.5 cups water

    Add a pinch of salt and a little oil and leave to boil. Once it starts boiling, stir and turn down heat as low as it will go and cover pot. Seven minutes later check on rice. If it’s still soggy-looking leave it to cook for a little bit longer, but if it’s already looking nice and fluffy, turn off heat, mix, place clean towel on top of pot and then put the lid back on (so no condensation drips back onto the rice). Perfect rice. Chris loves rice, more so than even me (Indian by race and born and raised in Thailand). Never cooked rice without a rice cooker until I moved to St. Louis and will probably never cook rice any other way now that I’ve mastered the art of cooking rice in a pot. Mmm.

    (Did you even need this information? Probably not.)

  2. egan March 18, 2008 at 2:25 pm #

    I do like Indian food too, but for some reason don’t eat it all that often. The bread is so freaking good and curry is pretty tasty too.

Leave a Reply

