Q&A

17 Mar

Here are my answers to some questions:

From Cyndi – What religion were you brought up in and when/did they change over the years?

Short answer: I was raised Mormon and left the church, along with my immediate family, when I was about sixteen. The longer explanation is here.

From Caryn – In my family, each of my sisters and I have our “thing”… that none of the rest of us are really known for… ie. Kelli’s the hostess so we have all our family dinner things at her house, Kirstin’s the peace-maker who helps settle all the arguments, Nicole’s the nurse who takes care of us, etc. Do you & your siblings have your “things”? What are they?

Here we go… There are a lot of us, so get comfy! I am the mom. Since I am six years older than the next oldest sibling, it just came naturally. In general, my brothers and sisters call me when they need help or advice, and when they don’t want to tell Mom or Dad something.

My sister Ashley is… well, the black sheep. She has chosen to live her life in a way that none of us condone, so… there you go.

My sister Brittany is the perfectionist. She is universally known for having never gotten into trouble for much of anything, she is better with money than all the rest of us put together, and she has a fantastic work ethic. She is also, of course, a hair artist.

My brother Ryan is the comedian. He could make ANYONE laugh. He is kind hearted and super sweet, but seriously SO funny. He is fantastic at impressions and general silliness, and we love it.

My brother Blake is the baby. He is also exceptionally strong, especially considering how skinny he is, and always the quiet one.

Thanks for the questions guys! Feel free to send me more if/when you think of them. In the interest of full disclosure, here are some other things I don’t think I have covered here:

  • I am afraid of heights, snakes, spiders, and the ocean.
  • I have a totally serious phobia of flatirons, much to my sister’s dismay.
  • I am weird about bathroom stalls. I have to use the same one at work all the time. I will wait until it is open, or go to another bathroom since I have “my stall” in every bathroom.
  • I hate pooping at work.
  • I have come up with a dizzying amount of nicknames for my dog. Lately, she’s Baby Bear.
  • I have seriously, offensively, life-threateningly stinky feet. Please never ask me to prove this, as you could DIE.
  • I despise flossing my teeth. I do it, but I HATE it.
  • I secretly think Europeans are cooler than Americans. They certainly eat better.
  • I fantasize about being able to cook REALLY well. I want to be the sort of cook who just jumps into the kitchen, pulls out whatever happens to be there, and can make something fabulous without a recipe. I know this comes with practice, and also with careful shopping so you have useful things on hand all the time.
  • Despite my weight issues, if someone told me I could be thin and straight or stay the way I am forever, I would chose to stay the way I am. I really like my curves.
  • I think I pee more than normal people. My coworkers don’t get up nearly as often as I do.
  • Please don’t tell all of the vegetarians/vegans/organics that I work with, but I am secretly suspicious of the whole natural/organic movement. I think it is awesome to grow your own food, or buy it from a local farm, but I really have trouble believing in all of the natural/organic products sitting on the shelves at your average major chain grocery.
  • I would very, very much like to be a sommelier… or to at least take some classes about it.
5 Responses to “Q&A”

  1. Brandi March 17, 2008 at 1:47 pm #

    Learning new things about you is one of my favorite things in life. 🙂

  2. c. March 17, 2008 at 3:59 pm #

    Very interesting, H. Love to know where the flat-iron thing came from; I don’t know what I’d do without mine!

  3. Caryn March 17, 2008 at 4:35 pm #

    Those are great answers!! Thank you!!

  4. egan March 18, 2008 at 2:29 pm #

    Just curious, what makes you suspicious of organic food? The problem is there are so many different types of “organic” certifications and they all have differing criteria.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Organics « Yummy Sushi Pajamas - March 18, 2008

    […] question, and because I haven’t blogged yet today (quelle horreur!), I wanted to clarify my issues with “organic” and “natural” […]

Leave a Reply

