Organics

18 Mar

To answer Egan‘s question, and because I haven’t blogged yet today (quelle horreur!), I wanted to clarify my issues with “organic” and “natural” labels.

I just think it is SO easy to call something organic or natural, and impossible to guarantee that either of those terms mean the same thing (or anything at all) from place to place. Petroleum is natural, but I don’t want to eat it. Radioactive uranium is natural too, but again… not food.

In general, I prefer to keep things clear and easy by shopping at either farmer’s markets (where even if their organic/natural claims are false, I am supporting local agriculture) and at Whole Foods because they make it very clear what those terms mean in their particular store.

I am bothered by the terms because I think they are playing to the fact that consumers are, in general, more than content to stay ignorant of facts and believe whatever the pretty label tells them to. If I thought people were really researching things before buying their grocery store generic brand “organic” salsa, I might feel better about it.

So that’s that.

Now please wish me NO TRAFFIC on the way home, as Aaron is home with the flu and I am trying to get home to bring him Gatorade and soup.

3 Responses to “Organics”

  1. irunwithscissors March 18, 2008 at 5:26 pm #

    aww.. poor aaron… hope he feels better soon! Be quick with the gatorade and soup!

  2. c. March 18, 2008 at 8:12 pm #

    I think you are right about the labels thing. I think it’s a market that is trying to cash in on some people ignorance about the whole issue.

    I wish you NO TRAFFIC, but I think it is too late.

  3. Ruby March 19, 2008 at 8:09 am #

    Hope you had no traffic!

Leave a Reply

