Milestone Pants

20 Mar

Today I am wearing pants that I haven’t been able to get into for over a year.  They fit… comfortably.  I can even sit down.  I am very, very pleased.  It is just the motivation I needed.

I had begun to be frustrated (again) because the numbers on the scale are not dropping as quickly as I’d like.  However, the pants are a clear sign that the exercise is reshaping my body anyway, and today I feel like I can finally see a small difference.  Of course, I imagine it helps that these pants aren’t all baggy on my butt like all the others right now…

In other fabulous news, I skipped the gym today.

Yep, that’s a GOOD thing!  Instead, I went out for a long walk at lunch.  I got to get outside, where it was beautiful if a little windy.  I burned plenty of calories.  I also stumbled across the local Trader Joes.

This means I  had a FANTASTIC veggie hummus wrap and a Braeburn apple for lunch.  I also picked up some soy and flaxseed tortilla chips and pineapple salsa to keep here at work.  I was going to get some soup as well, but became utterly distracted by the WINE!

I forgot that in DC food stores can also carry wine.  This is not true in Maryland.  Trader Joes is known for a great selection of cheap wines.  I picked up three bottles of wines I have been meaning to try, and each was $6 or less!  I plan to rate them on the site, mostly just so I can keep track of what I have tried, liked, and disliked.

Thanks, Milestone Pants, for putting me in the sort of mood to go outside, get some fresh air, and find cheap wine!  🙂

4 Responses to “Milestone Pants”

  1. Brandi March 20, 2008 at 5:30 pm #

    I love the fresh air lunch walks. I can’t wait to do them myself next week! 🙂 I’m glad you had a good day. It’s wonderful to see the sizes go down when the scale stays the same. You’re gaining muscle, girl! I love you. ❤

  2. holly March 21, 2008 at 4:14 pm #

    Fresh air walks are wonderful! I walk to work every day and it really clears my head and keeps me refreshed.

  3. rainypete March 29, 2008 at 11:07 am #

    The important thing to remember about trying to lose weight with exercise is that measurements of your body are critical in the milestones. Added muscle mass weighs a lot more than the fat you’ll be losing. Don’t let the scale grind you down when you know you’re gaining ground. Trust in your clothes and your overall sense of well begin to show you the real progress you’re making.

    For what it’s worth from me, you’re looking great!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Good Friday « Yummy Sushi Pajamas - March 21, 2008

    […] I talked so much about the Milestone Pants yesterday, I figured I would go ahead and post a shot of them, so here you […]

Leave a Reply

