No Scientific Value

25 Mar

Okay, this is sort of a baby themed post, but I have to ask….

Has anyone else seen these Chinese predictor things? Adorable Brandi pointed me to this one, and so far it is right for everyone I know. Me, lots of coworkers, all of my siblings… so now I want to know if it is wrong for anyone?

Basically, you find the age of the mother on the left hand side of the chart, and then keep going across until you get to the right month column, and you have male or female.

If this is right for everyone, can we find a way to market it and be rich? 🙂

16 Responses to “No Scientific Value”

  1. girlinthecrosswalk March 25, 2008 at 3:22 pm #

    It’s wrong for my mother.

    She turned 41 in Feb. this year and I turned 21 in Jan. So she would have been 19 when I was conceived. Which means I would have to be a male.

  2. Caryn March 25, 2008 at 3:26 pm #

    My older sister’s was wrong. Mom was 19 and conceived Kelli in March. But it was right for me and my little sister.

  3. Yummy Sushi Pajamas March 25, 2008 at 3:36 pm #

    GITC — Unless you were conceived in April, which is entirely possible. I got pregnant in June and was due March 3.

  4. Sarah March 25, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    Mine was wrong…my mom was 24, and I was conceived in April…I should be a boy, according to that chart, and I am very much a girl.

  5. Brandi March 25, 2008 at 5:08 pm #

    It was right for almost 85% of people I polled. 🙂 Kinda neat! We’ll see if I have a boy or not!

  6. girlinthecrosswalk March 25, 2008 at 6:12 pm #

    Wait I thought it was the age of conception and month of birth… I did it wrong.

  7. girlinthecrosswalk March 25, 2008 at 6:14 pm #

    P.S. It’s still wrong though because I was two weeks late which means I would have been conceived in March…

  8. Wondy March 25, 2008 at 6:32 pm #

    I’m pretty sure it’s accurate for me.

  9. tash March 25, 2008 at 7:15 pm #

    Just checked, right for both of my daughters.

    i feel badly, I haven’t lurked here in an eternity for some reason. Thanks for the comments. And I own a pair of yummysushipj’s so really, there is no excuse.

  10. Becca March 25, 2008 at 8:01 pm #

    It worked for me, both pregnancies! I have a few friends though who it’s been right for, and a few that it hasn’t. It can be fun to ask people about it though.

  11. KennethSF March 26, 2008 at 4:58 am #

    Well, I hate to shatter your hope, but here it is: I’m of Chinese ancestry, and I’ve never heard of this calculation method, let alone its accuracy.

  12. Tara March 26, 2008 at 6:56 am #

    If you look at when I was born it is right, but for when I was conceived it is wrong. Apparently I should have been a boy!

  13. Tara March 26, 2008 at 6:57 am #

    Oops, nevermind. For the month I was conceived it is right. (It helps to read all the directions. hehe)

  14. Brandee March 26, 2008 at 7:10 am #

    Right for me!

  15. Becky March 27, 2008 at 3:22 pm #

    Mine was wrong when I was pregnant with Alex. But hey, can’t win ’em all, right?

  16. Erica March 28, 2008 at 11:21 am #

    Well, it was wrong for me three times–both of my living boys and my lost little girl. Seems like it’s right about 50% of the time…sort of like guessing!

    -Erica

Leave a Reply

