On a Grey Monday

31 Mar

“When tomorrow starts without me, try to understand, an angel came and called my name, then took me by the hand.” –Memorial garden bench from here.

Our weekend was a beautiful one. We went to the new Butterfly Pavilion at the Natural History Museum in downtown DC. There is a small fee to get in, but inside you are closed in with 250 butterflies flying free and flitting from one beautiful flower to another.

When we first walked in, I was dive-bombed by a blue morpho.

Look familiar?
02.15.08 Here It Is

It was wonderful and made me a little teary-eyed. The space is not terribly large, and I was burdened with a disposable camera because SOMEONE (me) let my good camera battery die… but it was beautiful all the same. I got some uber-crappy pictures with the disposable that I will upload and try to improve tonight. There were butterflies zooming all around, flitting past our heads, landing on our clothes… one small one got terribly stressed out and refused to part with my tank top. Finally one of the handlers had to remove him with a little brush since they are too delicate to touch. She said they get stressed out and cling to someone for comfort.

Yep. That made me teary too.

We kept trying to get a picture of the blue morpho but they moved so quickly that it was tough to get them, especially with my sub-par photo equipment. Just as we were about to leave, one landed on Aaron’s forehead! Then it was his turn to get a little teary-eyed.

Call me crazy, but no one else had one on their head, so I choose to see this as a tiny, beautiful, fluttering hello from our precious son.

After our museum experience, we had a beautiful dinner at the Capital Grille. It is a super fancy restaurant that we could never afford. However, thanks to somebody we unexpectedly received $300 in Vegas winnings and, having been forbidden to spend the money on our benefactor, we splurged for a fabulous dinner.

This is absolutely not somewhere we could ever afford without unexpected money like this, but we’ve always wanted to go. They are known specifically for their aged steaks. We were seated in a beautiful dining room with little lamps on each table. Our waiter was tremendously polite and helped us pick out a wine based on what I usually like and what we could afford. He did not for one instant make us feel badly for having a price limit.

He brought us samples of the wine in adorable mini wine glasses, and we chose a Reisling that Aaron loved too! He doesn’t usually like wine, so we were both excited by that! I showed him how to taste it all frou-frou like I learned in my wine class… sniff, swirl, sniff, tiny sip, aerate, drink. He swore it made the wine taste better, which is good since I always feel so god-awful pretentious doing it.

I ordered the sirloin and Aaron got a bone-in sirloin with mushrooms and onions. Both steaks were dry aged for 14 days in house. They were absolutely fantastic. Awesome. Worth every penny. Even after eating half of my steak, which is way more than I usually do, I didn’t have the stomach ache that usually accompanies large red meat intake for me.

We chose lobster mac & cheese as our side dish, which was good but nowhere near as good as the steaks. The waiter was super attentive the whole time and had this nifty little tool for scooping up crumbs!

On the way home, we stopped for root beer floats. It was awesome.

Yesterday we slept in, ran some errands, developed our blurry and dim butterfly shots, and ate candy for dinner.

It’s a good thing we had the Best. Weekend. Ever. because this grey and chilly Monday is doing nothing for my mood. Excuse me while I go to the gym.

9 Responses to “On a Grey Monday”

  1. Becky March 31, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    Oh, your Aodin is quite the trickster, isn’t he? What a great baby, and what a beautiful tribute to your son.

  2. c. March 31, 2008 at 1:39 pm #

    Sounds divine. The steak. The wine. The root beer floats. Yum.

    As for the butterfly that landed on Aaron (and the one that clung to you!), I’d like to think Aodin paid you a little visit or, at the very least, bid you hello, too. XO.

  3. girlinthecrosswalk March 31, 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    😀 Most exciting blog EVER.

  4. Antigone March 31, 2008 at 5:17 pm #

    Yum yum yum. Nothing beats a good steak.

  5. CLC March 31, 2008 at 5:24 pm #

    Sounds like the perfect day and date. That Aodin, he’s a sweet one, isn’t he?

  6. Wondy March 31, 2008 at 6:41 pm #

    H! That quote has me in raptures, I love it!!

  7. Ruby March 31, 2008 at 10:00 pm #

    That sounds LOVELY! I’m glad you had a chance to kick back and relax and enjoy a fantastic meal. I got a touch teary over the butterfly…

  8. MOM April 1, 2008 at 9:04 pm #

    Hey baby, what an awesome weekend!!!

  9. Rainypete April 2, 2008 at 12:02 pm #

    Yeah……so I had to read this post at lunch didn’t I?? Grrrrrrrrr.

    Seriously cool about the butterflies though. Just one more little bit of evidence that you guys are being watched over by Aodin. A greeting at the door and farewell upon your exit. How awesome is that? I have to go and try to get the steak out of my mind and go eat my ham sandwich………

Leave a Reply

