Good Counsel

3 Apr

Well, I saw a counselor today!

I always have a hard time getting into the whole counseling “thing.”  I talk A LOT.  I’m sure you’re shocked.  There are a lot of kids in my naturally loud family, and we learned to talk loud, often, and right over anyone else.  Otherwise, we’d never be heard.

In my adult life, I have learned to make a concerted effort NOT to talk over everyone.  I have to constantly be aware that I am giving the other person time to speak.  Counselors, in general, mostly just want you to say what you’re thinking… maybe with some prompts dropped in to lead the flow of emotions.  So…

She seems nice, and she could be a good fit.  It’s hard to say so early on.  I had no issues opening up to her.  I did, however, find myself going over the session in my head on the walk back to my office.  I was totally reviewing what I said, how I phrased things…

How weird am I?  🙂

Anyway, the short of it is that she thinks everything I am going through right now is totally normal and to be expected.  She says most people don’t feel a real lessening in major grief until after a year.  She also said that I had gone through an awful lot of change in the last couple of months with Aodin, a new job, my parents moving, the cysts…

Huh.  Well, when you put it that way…

8 Responses to “Good Counsel”

  1. Becky April 3, 2008 at 5:03 pm #

    Glad your experience was positive, dude. You *have* had an incredible year.

  2. Dad April 3, 2008 at 6:30 pm #

    do what you need to do help comes from strange places

  3. Amy April 3, 2008 at 9:53 pm #

    Glad it went well. I’m thinking of you and hoping that it gets a little softer (easier just sounds wrong!)

  4. irunwithscissors April 4, 2008 at 5:45 am #

    good to hear it went well… and you have had a lot going on over the past couple months… but hang in there… keep seeing the counselor if it helps, and youll get through it! Love you!

  5. bleeding espresso April 4, 2008 at 11:15 am #

    So happy to hear things went well…keep going! 🙂

  6. Tara J. April 4, 2008 at 2:29 pm #

    Change is hard. Even positive ones (like a great new job). And you are too hard on yourself (oh yes you are!). Enjoy the objective ear of your counselor and enjoy relaxing and going easier on yourself more often! 🙂

  7. Antigone April 6, 2008 at 12:23 pm #

    I’ve thought about going to one – just haven’t gotten my inertia going in that direction. Does it really help?

  8. bastet3 April 6, 2008 at 12:56 pm #

    I think everything you’re going through is definately normal, but it’s good that now you have someone to really talk to about it and help you work through it! I hope everything works out with this lady. And don’t worry about replaying it in your head, I totally do that all the time with regular conversations!

Leave a Reply

