Wheeeee-kend!

6 Apr

Aaron and I had another wonderful weekend. On Saturday we went back to the butterfly pavilion, this time armed with my good camera and a fully charged battery. Thanks to that, we got some amazing shots:

04.05.08 Smithsonian -- Butterfly Pavilion (11)

04.05.08 Smithsonian -- Butterfly Pavilion (12)

04.05.08 Smithsonian -- Butterfly Pavilion (42) --  Aarons Hitchiker 4

04.05.08 Smithsonian -- Butterfly Pavilion (28) -- Morpho

A huge improvement on the last pictures, right? You can see all of them here. We spent about an hour in the butterfly pavilion, and then probably another hour exploring the insect zoo and the gemstone exhibit in the Natural History Museum.

After we finished there, we had a quick lunch at the cafe downstairs. Then we walked to the National Geographic building to see their current exhibit, Frogs: A Chorus of Color. It was really cool, and I got some awesome pictures. My favorite was the Waxy Monkey Frog. How can you not love something called a Waxy Monkey Frog? Besides, look at their awesome little faces:
04.05.08 Nat Geo Museum -- Frog Exhibit -- Waxy Monkey Frog 4

Now, of course, I totally want one… except I could never catch live bugs to feed it. Ew.

After that, we walked back to the monuments and headed home. All in all, we walked about four miles yesterday. It was a great way for me to get exercise and it didn’t seem to irritate my cyst as much as everything else has been lately. I am anxious for Tuesday’s scan to see if anything has changed with the stupid thing…

We had a nice dinner at a restaurant in the next town over, and then spent the evening just hanging out.

Today, we slept in, went grocery shopping, and spent the whole day relaxing. It was awesome. I also had a nice long chat with my favorite Brandi, which was awesome.

All in all, a perfect weekend!

3 Responses to “Wheeeee-kend!”

  1. Becky April 6, 2008 at 8:35 pm #

    Every single time, and I *do* mean every time I see a SLIGHTLY cute animal, I BEG The Daver to let me get one. This includes: goats, llamas, chickens, turkeys, and snakes.

    For some reason or another, tho, he just doesn’t buy me them. Always claims something about city ordinances or something.

  2. Amy April 7, 2008 at 5:07 pm #

    Awesome pictures! And I want the frog too but I have a friend who’s deathly afraid of them so no can do!

  3. Antigone April 7, 2008 at 9:59 pm #

    Is that frog real???

Leave a Reply

