The Quilt Paradox

7 Apr

I’ve been inspired by a beautiful post.

Every time I “meet” someone who has lost a child, no matter who they are or how I know them, I add them to a mental list. The list is all of the people I think of, hope for, pray for on a regular basis. It is all of the people who I care for, who I wish happiness and peace. The list includes my family and friends, but more and more it also includes parents who have lost children.

It is as though I carry within me a basket, infinitely large, in which I place the memory of these precious lost angels. Every name, every picture goes into this heart-basket. The longer I am online, the more I talk about Aodin, the more names are added to my basket of remembrance.

How is it, then, that the more full my basket becomes, the lighter my burden seems? What mysterious law of physics allows the weight of so many beautiful names, tiny perfect faces, lives so painfully short to weigh less with every addition?

Maybe I don’t have a basket at all. Maybe instead, I have a quilt square… just one, knit of a strong and beautiful fabric. And maybe my quilt square is not alone, but meets others as it goes. Maybe every new friend, every grieving parent, every chance meeting stitches another square to my own until we are all holding each other together. Apart, we are just squares of fabric, but together we are strong and warm and comforting.

Thanks for being a part of my quilt.

7 Responses to “The Quilt Paradox”

  1. H. L. Halliday April 7, 2008 at 1:20 pm #

    That is a beautiful analogy.

  2. MOM April 7, 2008 at 3:07 pm #

    And a true one….we are here to lift each others burdens…THANK HEAVEN!!

  3. Amy April 7, 2008 at 4:44 pm #

    Thank you for being next to my quilt square.
    You should have a package by Thursday.
    Take good care of yourself! Much love, Amy

  4. Wondy April 7, 2008 at 7:00 pm #

    Ah this is lovely. Thank you for including all of us and I agree with comment number two, that’s what we are here for and it works all ways.

    Incidently, in my Superskills training yesterday you were my example of a wonderful learning coach – I told your story (in short) and everyone agreed you sound like the best kind of friend.

    Thank you so much for being such a huge part of my life, Heather x x

  5. Becky April 7, 2008 at 9:35 pm #

    You’re right, you know that? That’s how it goes. And it’s so strange, but it’s true. I’m with you, dude.

  6. Rainypete April 9, 2008 at 11:10 am #

    No Heather, thank you. This is a great way to view the friendships we make indeed.

  7. Antigone April 10, 2008 at 11:07 am #

    Yes we are, aren’t we.

Leave a Reply

