Official

8 Apr

I had my preoperative scan.  As is not surprising, there is in fact something hanging out in the general area of my right ovary.  The cyst, which is what is probably is, has gotten larger and made some tiny new friends. 

Either that or, as mentioned at my last scan and confirmed by my regular doctor, it is a twisting of the fallopian tube, which will then have to come out.

They won’t know until they’re in there.  I may have some cysts popped and gently removed.  I may lose an ovary.  I may lose the fallopian tube on my right side.  There is no way for me to know before I go into surgery, and no way for them to wake me up in the middle.  I will go to sleep, and then wake up and have to be told what was removed from my body.

I’m a little scared this time.  I know I have had this surgery before, and I think (I hope) I am just being paranoid because new possibilities have been introduced.  All the same, it is terrifying to think I won’t know until it’s too late.  I mean… I guess it doesn’t matter, since whatever it is will have to come out no matter what, unless I decide I *like* pain, but still…

I am still waiting on a second scan and some bloodwork.  Thank goodness for free wi-fi at the hospital.

15 Responses to “Official”

  1. Amy April 8, 2008 at 9:19 am #

    Thinking of you today! Yes, indeed thank goodness for the wifi!

  2. Not So Little Sister April 8, 2008 at 12:06 pm #

    Thinking of you…sorry I haven’t commented lately. I’ve still been reading. Hope you get nothing but good news today and the day of the surgery. When is it again? Hugs.

  3. g April 8, 2008 at 12:58 pm #

    Thinking of you hun. Are they doing a lap/hyst or just hyst?

    xo
    g

  4. tash April 8, 2008 at 1:59 pm #

    Yikes. Maybe it’s good they can’t wake you in the middle. Hopefully there’s some good grub to go with that wifi — check in when you can.

  5. girlinthecrosswalk April 8, 2008 at 4:00 pm #

    Seriously with the free wi-fi. lol. Everything will be ok! And even if it’s not… it will be. 🙂 Love you!

  6. Becky April 8, 2008 at 5:18 pm #

    EEPS!

    You poor thing! I’ll be thinking good thoughts at you.

  7. bastet3 April 8, 2008 at 5:19 pm #

    Aaack! I know I wouldn’t like that situation either. But I know you’ll get through it alright, since everyone is pulling for you. Oh, and do you feel that? A kind of tingling in your hand sometimes? That’s me giving it a squeeze. 🙂

  8. Caryn April 8, 2008 at 5:47 pm #

    *lots of hugs* coming your way.

  9. CLC April 8, 2008 at 6:30 pm #

    Good luck. I know it’s scary, but you will have lots of us thinking/praying for you!

  10. H. L. Halliday April 9, 2008 at 10:01 am #

    Prayers and Hugs going your way. I hope everything goes smoothly. (I may end up in line behind you, as they think I’ve a cyst on my left ovary…damn ovaries! Why can’t they behave?) I’m keeping you in my prayers. Stay sane.

  11. Rainypete April 9, 2008 at 11:08 am #

    Going under the knife is never fun, even if you know it’s for the best. You’re watched over so I’m sure it will all go swimmingly!

  12. Wondy April 9, 2008 at 4:36 pm #

    I think what Pete says true but I still feel for you. Try and stay positive (I’m sure you will) and not worry too much, as this will not help you in the lead up to the op. I am thinking of you and know that you will come out of this stronger than before, and ready for anything. Love you x x

  13. Chica April 10, 2008 at 2:58 am #

    Good luck lady, fear is only natural but stay strong xxx

  14. Antigone April 15, 2008 at 7:37 am #

    I got behind on my reading and I wish I’d read this post earlier. I hope you’re doing okay.

  15. Lisa April 19, 2008 at 10:45 am #

    Heather, it’s been such a long time since I’ve been here to visit but I was alarmed to read that you have cysts on your ovaries. I pray, pray, pray that everything turns out just fine. And you know that I say that just based on my own experiences…especially since I am dealing with cancer for the third time now.

Leave a Reply

