Book Reviews and More

10 Apr

Here we have Book Reviews number 32, 33 and 34, and also a forewarning that I am going to write a private post a little later today, so feel free to go ahead and email me for the password.  Don’t worry, I can almost guarantee it’s not YOU I’m hiding from.

Okay, Book Review #32:

I really liked this book.  It was super interesting, very well written, and kept me into the story.  Awesome.

Verdict: A

Next, Book Review #33:

I wanted to like this one a little more than I did.  I think Colin Falconer does a great job writing about women, which he says he does with his wife’s help.  He is great with imagery and tells a generally good story.  Unfortunately, he is also a little repetitive.  He used almost the exact same description of Cleopatra three or four times in one chapter…  Plus, you can only read so many stories about Cleopatra before you start to get bored.  I mean, the story never changes.  So, overall a decent book but nothing special.

Verdict: B-

Book Review #34:

This one was an experiment.  I made it through the first chapter before I decided I was either too stupid or too down-to-earth to read this one.  His writing seemed, to me, to be a little pretentious, and something about the way he talked about sex bothered me too.  So I gave up and moved on.

Verdict: D-

My next read:

3 Responses to “Book Reviews and More”

  1. g April 10, 2008 at 10:28 am #

    YSP – I can’t find your email, am I dense?
    lellowg at gmail dot com

    In regards to the Cleopatra book, have you read Memoirs of Cleopatra by Margaret Geo.rge? Amazing read, long, but I love long books.

    I am going to have to check out Frozen Water trade 🙂

  2. Chris Austria April 10, 2008 at 10:50 am #

    I’m new to your site and I like it so far. I will try to pick up The Frozen Water Trade…Why do you like it?

  3. Antigone April 15, 2008 at 7:39 am #

    The Great Apes sounds really interesting. Are you sure it’s a drag?

Leave a Reply

