Four Years

24 Apr

To My Husband:

I cannot now imagine a life without you.  After six years of dating and four years of marriage, TEN years together, I still can’t get enough of you.  I love you more every day.

This past year has been an absolute revelation to me.  I have always known you to be strong and smart and good, a supportive husband and an admirable man.  Now I know you are also a father… one that will one day inspire insane jealousy in your children’s friends.  You possess a depth of love and kindness that I could not have known until I watched your ignore your own pain at the loss of our son in order to see me through my grief.

I also saw you breakdown, just a little.  Maybe for my sake, and maybe for your own, you let your walls down and let me know just how deeply you felt our loss.  I needed that, and I loved you all the more for it.

You are my hero, my one true love, my very VERY best friend.  I could not have chosen a better person to share my life with.  You not only put up with, but genuinely enjoy my many oddities.  I wonder if I will ever stop finding it sexy when you always have an answer to my endless, child-like questions about the world.  I hope not.

Thank you for sharing your life with me.  Thank you for loving me so much that we managed to create life.  We made a people!  It may not have turned out like we expected, but we still managed to make a whole person just from how very much we like one another!  I am still amazed.  I can’t wait to see how our future short people will turn out.

Thank you for putting up with my crap… my unnecessary shopping, my stinky feet, my aversion to cleaning, and the way I insist on talking to you while you are trying to fall asleep.  Thank you for warming my feet in the winter, and for always having a ready supply of genuine hugs.  Thank you for knowing when I need your help, even if I am not so good at telling you sometimes, and for understanding the one time that it was just too much and, for a while, I didn’t tell you and you, despite your infinite understanding didn’t know.  I’m sorry I retail-therapied so much.

Thank you for always walking the dog, no matter the time or the weather.  There’s a reason you’re her favorite I guess.

I love the way your eyes crinkle when you smile.  I love the way you look at me like you are falling in love all over again at least once a day.  I love how you never let a day go by without telling me you love me.  I love that you have big, beautiful dreams for us and that you are patient in explaining to me what needs to be done to make them happen.  I love that you work so hard, but still come home and want to hang out with me.  I love how much you read, and how you take the time to explain the plot of your computer/Xbox games to me.  I love that you never, ever play those games unless you know I don’t mind.  I love that you let me have “me” time with my friends and family, even if it means you spend the weekend with the dog.  I love that you want to drive me to the bus every morning.  I like the extra time with you more than you might realize.

I love the color of your hair.  I love the way your hands are always warm.  I love how very hard you try to make me happy, even if you never listen when I tell you that I AM happy.  You make me happy, just by being with me.

Honestly, I could write forever.  I can think of a million things, some important and some seemingly insignificant, that make me fall a little more in love with you every day.  I could tell you in thousands of words and hundreds of pages.  So let me stop here and save the rest to tell you tomorrow, and the day after that, and the day after that… for all of the long years we will spend together, happier every day.

You are a part of my soul.  I adore you.

11 Responses to “Four Years”

  1. Becky April 24, 2008 at 3:43 pm #

    Dude, you’re too sweet!

    Happy anniversary to you both.

  2. c. April 24, 2008 at 7:38 pm #

    Beautiful, H. Your husband is a pretty lucky man to have you.

  3. antigone April 24, 2008 at 8:03 pm #

    Get a Room!!

  4. CLC April 24, 2008 at 9:11 pm #

    Happy Anniversary! I’d say he is pretty lucky to have you too!

  5. rainypete April 24, 2008 at 10:16 pm #

    I think you’re both amazing and just perfect for one another. Yay for you two! Beautiful…..

  6. MOM April 24, 2008 at 10:45 pm #

    They are BOTH lucky….and coming from a MOM, that says a lot about her husband; all that she says is true and she loves him back in all those ways; it really does a mother good!!!

  7. Brandee April 24, 2008 at 11:14 pm #

    Aww happy anniversary guys! Heather, that was so sweet!

  8. Elizabeth April 24, 2008 at 11:51 pm #

    A very sweet post, and I bet he feels just as lucky as you do. I probably mentioned this last year..and I’m sure I’ll mention it again next year..but the day you got married was Curtis and I’s first date! Today was our fourth “dating” anniversary (our wedding anniversary is in dec).

  9. g April 25, 2008 at 10:36 am #

    Awwww how lucky you both are!! Happy Anniversary!

  10. Amy April 25, 2008 at 6:49 pm #

    Heather and Aaron,
    Happy Anniversary. I hope this year brings you joy and peace.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lacking Vocabulary « Yummy Sushi Pajamas - May 28, 2008

    […] him, which I have come to discover is a very different thing than love.  Thanks to at least one previous post, you’ve heard me praise his many virtues and fabulous traits.  And yet…  I still […]

Leave a Reply

