A Work of Art

28 Apr

From an email I wrote today:

I really think I will be grieving for the rest of my life.  It’s just the “how” that will change.  It’s interesting to see how this has changed me as a person.  As strange as it may sound, I am not sorry.  I sort of like who I am becoming.  I feel like a fancy glass vase or something…  a little more fragile than before, and definitely put through the fire to get here, but prettier for it all… Does that make sense?

9 Responses to “A Work of Art”

  1. c. April 28, 2008 at 3:53 pm #

    I like the way you’ve described it, H. It absolutely makes sense to me.

  2. CLC April 28, 2008 at 5:47 pm #

    It makes sense too. It does change you. Although I am not feeling the prettier for it yet..

  3. Wondy April 28, 2008 at 7:04 pm #

    It makes total sense, H – I love it.

  4. Amy April 28, 2008 at 7:34 pm #

    It makes sense, I like the metaphor!

  5. girlinthecrosswalk April 28, 2008 at 7:41 pm #

    That is beautiful. And you’re right you are pretty, even prettier now. ❤

    And fancy too. 😉

  6. tash April 28, 2008 at 8:17 pm #

    good for you.

    (wish I felt pretty. I feel a bit like I’ve been put in the fire and then forgotten there.)

  7. irunwithscissors April 28, 2008 at 10:25 pm #

    it makes perfect sense… beautiful sister!

  8. Rainy Pete April 29, 2008 at 6:51 am #

    It not only makes sense but I love that you see it this way. So many would simply bemoan the turn that fate has thrown their way and it takes a strong will and heart to get through it. It’s about looking at what we have and being happy instead of looking for the bad. Life will never be all happy and nicey nice. Better you appreciate what you have.

    So proud to know you H!

  9. Chica April 30, 2008 at 9:32 am #

    Beautiful beautiful beautiful. Gorgeous sentiments wonderfully written by a beautiful person. Love you and hope you are recovering well after your op xxx

Leave a Reply

