Ch-ch-ch-changes

1 May

I think my counselor broke up with me today.

It’s our second to last “free” meeting (offered through my company) before I have to start paying her and submitting claims to insurance.  I have been seeing her every other week, and today she said she didn’t think she needed to see me for our last free session for another month.  After that, she thinks I don’t need to see her!  I guess that’s good?

I figure I will just go it alone for a while and see how I feel.  Admittedly, I am feeling pretty stable and upbeat lately, so maybe I will be just fine.  I am not really worried though.  If I feel badly again, I can always call her, right?  🙂

____________________________________________________________

Tomorrow, I am going to attempt a Weight Watchers meeting.  Just as background, here’s what I had to say about the last one:

I don’t think I am ever going back… It was just not my thing. First off, I walked in and stood there for ten minutes before someone finally offered to help me, or in fact acknowledged me at all. Then, no one in the meeting introduced themselves, including the meeting leader. No one asked my name or gave me the chance to say that I was new. No one spoke to me at all really, including the leader. Everyone was very private. It was weird. Also, we didn’t talk about anything I didn’t already know or at least have good access to online somewhere.

I guess I’m glad it wasn’t the most awesome experience, since we really can’t afford it… I was just hoping for something inspirational and motivating.

I am hoping I like this one better, as I really think I could use some support in this.  Plus, I hear that they offer pregnancy and nursing support as well, so that when that time comes around again I can keep a better handle on my weight gain.  I will, of course, blog all about it.

____________________________________________________________

I think I am going to register for an online Italian course through Cyber Italian this weekend.  The course is inexpensive, self-paced, and will probably do a lot to help me refresh my skills.  I took their online placement test and placed into their upper intermediate course.  Sad, because I think a couple of months ago I would have placed into the upper advanced one.  Anyway, I am sort of excited about trying it out and seeing what it does for me.  If it works out well, I can continue with the course through their highest levels and then, hopefully pass the CELI and get a certificate in Italian!  Of course this is all purely for my own benefit and has nothing to do with career goals or anything.  I figure it can’t hurt, and I love Italian, so I am doing it for myself.  I’ll call it my Mother’s Day gift.

____________________________________________________________

Speaking of Mother’s Day, my Mom sent me this today:

I actually found this online from a mom who had lost her son.

“YOU ARE A MOMMY and always will be, no matter where your child is. Even though some people might not recognize you, be proud! You love your baby the same as any mother and will always be one! Try to do something for you to celebrate that. Have your significant other take you out to a mommy dinner, get yourself a card, and try to treat yourself at least once during the day. When people ask if you are a mom, say that you are with pride and confidence BECAUSE YOU ARE!”

The link to the full article is here.

10 Responses to “Ch-ch-ch-changes”

  1. Becky May 1, 2008 at 2:33 pm #

    Have you tried WW Online? I don’t do meetings and I don’t want to. But online works well for me.

  2. g May 1, 2008 at 2:57 pm #

    Breaking up in this case, sounds pretty good. Yes, you can always reengage if you need her.

    WW – I just do the online system, works ok. Wish it was working better 🙂 Good luck!

  3. tash May 1, 2008 at 3:21 pm #

    I took Italian in college (musician who wanted to be contrarian, I suppose), and I just love it. Please let me know how that course goes, I’m off to check it out.

    Wish my therapist would tell me that.

  4. Amy May 1, 2008 at 4:04 pm #

    I love what your Mom found for you! I think it’s awesome and oh, so, true!

    As for WW, they booted me out the door when I was prego, they don’t do that anymore for liability issues! So, just an FYI! They will do nursing Mom’s though! I wish you luck at your meeting! I know it’s the only way I’ve EVER lost weight!

    I too wish my therapist would kick my a** to the curb. I think she wants to work on my past life too which little does she know isnt’ gonna happen!

  5. Jessica in Rome May 1, 2008 at 4:17 pm #

    Yay it would be cool if you signed up for cyber italian, then I will know someone! lol. Hopefully it works out, I hate recommending stuff that sucks 😮

  6. Brandi May 1, 2008 at 4:22 pm #

    I felt the same way about the WW meeting the first time I went. It took me a while to find a leader I liked, and even longer to click with the group. So, my suggestion is to give it some time, H. 🙂 Although I’m not sure how much pregnancy support they offer you – they kicked me out the day I found out I was expecting. Which is understandable, because they don’t want to promote weight loss during that time. *shrug* They do have a breastfeeding plan though. 🙂

    I’m glad things are going better for you lately. That makes me so happy to hear!

  7. c. May 1, 2008 at 9:45 pm #

    I am Italian, although I never really learned it growing up. I know the swear words quite well and could easily teach you those :o)

    You sound good, H. That can’t be a bad thing. XO.

  8. Rainy Pete May 2, 2008 at 10:06 am #

    I think you’ve done marvelously and the counselor is probably right that you’re ready to go it without her! You’ve shown a depth of understanding and come to better grips than many that live on the shrink’s couch.

    I haven’t even got a solid grasp on English so no second language for me I’m afraid!

    I hope you enjoy your Mom’s dinner and hope it’s a good one (the kids make D hers and it’s not fit to eat so we eat once they’re in bed!!!). I’m sure Mr Pants will treat you like royalty!

  9. irunwithscissors May 2, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    this break-up (unlike most) actually sounds like a good thing! Good for you sis… sounds like things are going well!

  10. niobe May 7, 2008 at 7:37 am #

    I’d love to learn Italian. Sigh. Maybe someday.

Leave a Reply

