Shrinky Dink

9 May

Today we talked about ways to save money while on WW.  Everyone said that the best was to buy/cook in bulk and freeze whatever you can.  Most people said it was best to divide things into portions right away, before freezing anything, so that it is easier to use when the time comes.  People loved my idea to make a plan for the full week on every weekend, shop for it, and then stick to it throughout the week.

We also talked about the benefits of WW.  Lifetime Membership happens when you reach your goal and maintain it for seven weeks.  After that, you can go to meetings every week and never have to pay.  If you continue to go to meetings, which lots of the successful lifetime members at this meeting said was SO important, you only have to weigh in once a month.  Then you can attend for free as long as you don’t go more than two pounds over your goal.  It seems pretty strict, but it will keep you in line. I also think it proves why it is important to choose a reasonable goal, something you CAN stick to within two pounds without feeling awful about it.  Plus, there’s the obvious stuff like more energy, better health, easier shopping…

Also, apparently Trader Joes carries a peanut butter called “Better ‘n Peanut Butter” that is only 2 points for two tablespoons, and people say it is awesome.  I might run by at lunch and pick some up, and if it’s good I can report back here!

I got a star today for remembering what we talked about last week, one for my 2.4 pound loss, and a smiley face from the receptionist, who thinks I am awesome.

I AM SO PROUD OF ME!  If you’ve been considering a weight loss plan, please do this with me.  You deserve to feel like this too!

10 Responses to “Shrinky Dink”

  1. Not So Little Sister May 9, 2008 at 10:31 am #

    Congrats on everything. 2.4lbs is awesome!

  2. Brandi May 9, 2008 at 11:37 am #

    Hooray for your 2.4 lb loss! That is incredible, . I am SO proud of you. Ridiculously so. 😀

    I set my WW goal about 5-7 lbs more than my “personal goal”, so I never came in danger of going above the 2 lb bar they set. That seemed to work for me. 🙂

    I’ve had the Better ‘n Peanut Butter before. It’s okay – nothing to write home about, but a decent, healthy alternative. I especially like it on waffles!

  3. irunwithscissors May 9, 2008 at 12:50 pm #

    yay! thats so great sister! Congrats!

  4. Kaitlin May 9, 2008 at 1:08 pm #

    Hey!

    This is Kaitlin Sullivan, your old across the street neighbor! I was reading your blog and I wanted to share that I am doing WW also. I actually joined in October 2007 and since then I have reached my 10% goal (20 pounds lost)!
    I wanted to congratulate you on your weight loss this week and keep up the good work, WW is awesome!
    Have a good day!

  5. Judy May 9, 2008 at 1:50 pm #

    Hey, come do Round 2 of the Healthy Girl Challenge with Caryn and me! Email me for more info.

  6. Becky May 9, 2008 at 3:06 pm #

    I’ll be doing some damn WW again myself. Stupid miscarriage crap got me off plan, but that’s okay: I barely eat.

    *sighs*

    I’ll join you next week.

  7. Bre May 9, 2008 at 5:53 pm #

    That’s so awesome, Heather! I use that peanut butter and I think it’s yummy! 🙂

  8. Jenny May 9, 2008 at 9:18 pm #

    Congrats! 2.4 lbs is great!

  9. g May 9, 2008 at 10:05 pm #

    YOU ROCK! that is awesome!

  10. c. May 10, 2008 at 9:07 am #

    That is fabulous, H! Congrats.

    I wish we had Trader Joe’s up here :o(

Leave a Reply

