Satur-yay

17 May

Today has been a pretty good half of my weekend.  Aaron and I got the chance to sleep in, which was much needed.  We spent the morning hanging out at home, and then went out around lunchtime.

We initially intended to sell Aaron’s car at a local Carmax, but that fell through.  It turns out Carmax is mostly for desperate people, as they undervalued his car (compared to kbb.com) by $2,000!!!  It was a total rip-off.  Next week we’ll try the dealership, and he’s got some private interest as well.

We had a nice lunch out and then went to hang out with his Gramma.  Her church has ethnic themed dinners every so often, and she invited us to tonight’s dinner, “Mediterranean Cruise.”  We had amazing sangria, TONS of fantastic food, and a wonderful time hanging out with Gramma.

Now we’re home and neither of us are tired enough to go to bed.  Instead, he’s watching the History channel while I switch books.  I finally gave up on Social Construction of Ancient Cities, as I’ve been “reading” it for two weeks and hadn’t gotten past the first couple of pages… so I have given it up, with a verdict of utter failure, in favor of my next book:

I am only a couple of pages in, but so far I really like the writing style, so I think I can stick with it.

Best wishes for an awesome Sunday for you all!

3 Responses to “Satur-yay”

  1. tash May 18, 2008 at 6:50 am #

    I’ve had this on my shelf for years now — let me know what you think. I was thinking of recommending it for my bookclub. Right now I’m halfway through Ian McEwan’s “Saturday” and am still trying to figure out if I like it or not. Hmm.

    What ancient cities are you into? Maybe there’s a better author out there? That sounds like someone’s (rather poor) dissertation thrown together in book form.

  2. Becky May 18, 2008 at 10:01 am #

    Carmax is ridiculous and I hate them.

  3. g May 18, 2008 at 12:42 pm #

    We sold my husband’s truck in 3 days on crai.gslist. That’s my wisdom for today 🙂

    YAY

Leave a Reply

