Long Weekend

22 May

It’s only Thursday and I am already looking forward to this coming weekend.

First of all, I am excited to weigh in at my Friday morning WW meeting.  I have really stepped up the exercise this week, so I am anxious to see what happens.  On that note, can anyone clarify something for me?  I know they say you can gain weight and still be doing the right things because you “build muscle.”  However, in my mind it has never made sense to me to think that when you have a lot of weight to lose, you would still build enough muscle in the beginning to gain weight.  It seems to me like your body would burn that excess fat, or at least some of it, first…  Any thoughts?

Secondly, we’re going to a BBQ/Housewarming for some friends on Sunday afternoon that should be a lot of fun.

Third, and finally…  I have Monday off for Memorial Day!  I am VERY excited about this.  We have no weekend plans except the BBQ, so I intend to work on my Cyber Italian course a bit and do a lot of relaxing.

Now I just have to make it through today!

6 Responses to “Long Weekend”

  1. Tara May 22, 2008 at 8:35 am #

    It will burn some of that fat if it doesn’t get what it needs calorically from the food you are eating. However, muscle weighs more than fat, so if you burn off the same amount of fat as you build in muscle, you might go up a little in weight due to the difference. I have been working out, not eating great, but working out and have noticed clothes fitting differently. The scale isn’t moving much, but I am definitely building muscle because I am getting stronger. Now if I were to start eating better…..

  2. Caryn May 22, 2008 at 9:00 am #

    I agree with the whole “building muscle” thing. After the last Healthy Girl Challenge, I had only lost two pounds, but my legs looked awesome (I spent a lot of time on the treadmill). I was surprised, too, but apparently it’s true.

    I hope you have a nice, relaxing weekend!

  3. niobe May 22, 2008 at 9:13 am #

    I don’t know anything about it, but I don’t see why you couldn’t build up your muscles through exercise, but still be eating enough to maintain your fat. At least I’ve heard that your body is very reluctant to burn fat, because it “thinks” it might need it if there’s a famine or something. But I could be totally wrong.

  4. Becky May 22, 2008 at 4:07 pm #

    I’e always gained the first or so week I exercised which I assume is muscle. Hope you have a kick-ass weekend.

  5. antigone May 22, 2008 at 10:08 pm #

    How fun. The cookout, not the weigh-in.

  6. toriblaine May 23, 2008 at 11:39 pm #

    a pound of fat is larger in size than a pound of muscle… so you can be larger but weigh less than a muscular person.

    When people say “your building muscle” as an excuse for a week you didn’t lose, they mean that you could still be shrinking and losing fat, and yet not see the scale move…

    i hope that made sense.

Leave a Reply

