Sunburned and Happy

25 May

I believe that five hours of this:
05.24.08 Sailing (78)

was probably DIRECTLY responsible for this:
05.24.08 Sunburn (365.133)

And yes, it does hurt. In all honesty, I almost never get sunburned. Occasionally I will get a little red, but I am brown by the next day. As such, I didn’t even put sunscreen on anything but my face (which I only did because my moisturizer is SPF 30) for our five hours on the river. I know I’m an idiot, and I promise never to do it again.

That being said, I have had a wonderful weekend. Friday was an easy day at work. They closed our offices at three to give us an early start on the holiday weekend, so I went out for an awesome late lunch with BK. Of course, we did silly things:

05.23.08 Buck Hunter 2

Saturday was spent sailing the Potomac with Aaron’s mother and father-in-law. Despite the major sunburn, we had a great time and it was just beautiful.
05.24.08 Sailing (42)

05.24.08 Sailing (56)

05.24.08 Sailing (57)

Today, we spent a beautiful day at a barbecue and housewarming party in Virginia. I brought my own food to try to keep things a little healthier.
05.25.08 BBQ -- Fruits and Veggies

We have had a great weekend. Aaron goes back to work tomorrow, but only for half the day. I intend to sleep in, watch crap television, and work on more Cyber Italian lessons.

12 Responses to “Sunburned and Happy”

  1. antigone May 25, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    Ow ow ow ow ow ow.

    Dude, I wish we lived in the same city. I regularly go to Chuck E Cheese for long lunches with my coworkers.

  2. mrs.spit May 25, 2008 at 9:41 pm #

    oh, oh, oh, oh.

    Vinegar on that will help. Owie.

  3. Jenny May 26, 2008 at 8:15 am #

    Holy cow – you look all crunchy-burned! That’s got to hurt!

  4. Becky May 26, 2008 at 9:10 am #

    Yeeouch! Sounds totally worth it, tho.

  5. everyunderdogwillhaveitsday May 26, 2008 at 1:17 pm #

    Heather! Ouch. I feel awful just looking at you, are you sure you are ok? Still beautiful though. Please take care of yourself!! x

  6. CLC May 26, 2008 at 8:50 pm #

    Ouch, ouch, ouch, ouch. Where was the sunscreen?

  7. irunwithscissors May 27, 2008 at 7:57 am #

    ouch sis…. that sunburn looks painful! But glad you and BK had fun and you had fun sailing! Miss you! Cant wait till you come to visit!

  8. Tara May 27, 2008 at 1:30 pm #

    One word – SUNSCREEN WOMAN. Ok, I know that was two, but you get the point. Not like I can say too much at the moment seeing as the front of the bottom half of my shins are BRIGHT red (I was wearing capris and no sunscreen on the legs). I hope you are feeling better.

  9. Caryn May 27, 2008 at 1:39 pm #

    I’m sending cool, soothing thoughts your way. Also, you’re looking thinner. 🙂

  10. c. May 28, 2008 at 12:40 am #

    OMG. I love roasted asparagus. The picture is making my mouth water.

    And that is EXACTLY what I look like after a day in the sun sans sunscreen. It’s on account of me being a vampire though and staying out of the sun most days. I’m hoping I’ll still look 20 at 70, although I don’t look 20 now and I’m 35. Maybe I should rethink things a bit…

  11. tash May 29, 2008 at 3:22 pm #

    oh oh oh ow, fuck that hurts me to LOOK at it! eep! And dude, I love grilled asparagus, right off the grill, with a touch of oil (pref. lemon) and dash of salt. I like ’em crispy like fries. mmmm.

  12. KennethSF June 1, 2008 at 5:33 pm #

    Oh my goodness, you poor thing! Seems you’re as roasted as your asparagus! Hope you’re draped in a new skin now.

Leave a Reply

