Epic Fail

30 May

Aaaaand…  I gained .8 pounds.

Seriously, since when did I become the poster child for “I did everything right, but it still sucks?”  I’d love to resign THAT commission.

I don’t know what’s happening.  Last week I stayed within my points, walked a mile every day, and did 45 minutes of workout video four days a week.  This week I added fifty pushups and 75 crunches to that routine.  And I keep gaining.

Of course the WW people are telling me that this can happen, that I am building muscle and blah, blah, blah.  I just have a hard time thinking that is anything but lip service.  They have also talked about “eight 8oz glasses of water per day” and “starvation mode,” neither of which has any scientific basis.  Yes, water might make you feel more full, but you DO NOT need that much of it.  The only science behind water is that if you’re thirsty, you should drink some.  In fact, they have shown that forcing yourself to drink too much can lead to bladder issues.

As for the whole “starvation mode” thing, that never made sense to me.  No matter how little I am eating, a body carrying this much extra weight cannot possibly be without sufficient nutrition.  My body does not think independently of me, so it cannot possibly be sitting around wondering where it’s next meal will come from.

If WW is telling me these things, which I believe to be factually untrue, then how do I accept the spiel about this gain being normal/good/acceptable?

I am frustrated, and I want VERY BADLY to quit.  I won’t though.  I promised my Mommy this morning that I would stay in it for one more week.  Then I went to Walgreens and got a tape measure and took my measurements this morning.  I am going to start measuring every Friday as well.  If that changes for the better, then I can maintain motivation with or without the weight loss.

11 Responses to “Epic Fail”

  1. g May 30, 2008 at 10:20 am #

    Good job on the tape measure, too bad you didn’t do it two weeks ago, I imagine you have decreased in that. Hang in there, WW does work. You may go back through your journals and look at *what* you are eating. Is it 100 cal packs or fruits/veggies – whole grains or 1 point refined to the hills white bread. Getting the 5 daily servings of f/v really makes a big difference in my weightloss, more V than F, since F is mainly sugar (esp pineapples and bananas).

    Overall though, I know it’s cliche but I really think all the working out (go you!) is building muscle. I always tended to have a plateau at weeks 3/4 as my body readjusted to that.

    Hang in there lady, you can do this. You are much, much healthier today than you were what 4 weeks ago? That is a good… no great thing.
    xo
    g

  2. antigone May 30, 2008 at 5:45 pm #

    Is there any actual calorie counting at all? I’d be curious to see what the actual numbers were. You may be overestimating somewhere.

    The same thing happened to me last month. I got really into working out for a couple weeks and then gained weight. I got so frustrated I quit.

  3. Becky May 30, 2008 at 5:59 pm #

    That’s such a crappy feeling. It always ruins my week when that happens. Are you eating every single point you’re alloted? I find I go pretty easily into starvation mode (yes, seriously), and maybe you’re like me.

    Either way, hang in there.

  4. c. May 31, 2008 at 8:58 am #

    Awww, H., that sucks. Even if it is the whole muscle building thing, it’s still disappointing to see the numbers go up as opposed to down. Hoping you get better news the next weigh in.

  5. Caryn June 1, 2008 at 12:23 am #

    I know it doesn’t help how crappy you feel right now, but I promise it WILL get better. I wonder… are you weighing yourself at the same time of day (and on the same scale) each time? I fluctuate 3-5lbs within the same day sometimes…

    Hang in there. *hug*

  6. irunwithscissors June 1, 2008 at 10:01 am #

    hang in there sister! even if the scale isn’t showing it, you are doing good things for yourself!

  7. bastet3 June 1, 2008 at 4:18 pm #

    I don’t see that as an epic fail. Bodies are wierd, and somethings take a loooooong ass time to work. Either way, eating well and exercising will make you healthier in the long run, even if you don’t lose tons of wieght right off the bat!

  8. KennethSF June 1, 2008 at 5:34 pm #

    It’s an epic battle, so this is not a failure, just a little setback in a minor campaign.

  9. christine June 1, 2008 at 9:28 pm #

    as someone who uses the worst method possible–that is, just not eating at all–when they want to lose weight, trust me when i tell you that what you’re experiencing is not only normal, but also good. if you were immediately losing weight, it would mean that you’re probably not building any muscle, since you begin to build muscle before you begin to lose fat (and see physical results). if you’re not building any muscle, you’re not going to see any long-term changes in your body. if this still sounds ridiculous and wild to you, stop and consider for a minute—do you honestly think that you could eat healthy, exercise and drink plenty of water for the time that you’ve been doing this, and be causing HARM to your body (that is, resulting in fat-based weight gain)? of course not. THAT would be silly and irrational, and you’re a very smart lady who should know better.

    as for the water thing, the eight-glasses-a-day theory has been scrapped for a few years now; the target amount for women is actually about 90 ounces a day…which is more than eight 8oz. glasses. BUT the catch is that this amount includes water from any source—so any foods you eat that contain water are included in that 90 ounces. therefore it can be very easy to drink way more water than you need. as long as you’re taking in about 90 ounces of water throughout the day, your pee isn’t dark (ew ew i know but honestly the lighter it is, the better) and you’re peeing every 2-3 hours, you’re okay. keep in mind the thing i mentioned about foods containing water and also that if you’re exercising, you need to replace any water that you release through sweating.

    seriously why do i know this shit.

  10. christine June 1, 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    another fun fact: up to 20% of your daily water intake can come from food.

    make sure you’re getting enough fiber, too. if you’re not, if can have an effect on both your ability to lose weight AND how you physically feel. kellogg’s just came out with these neat little packets that you mix into a bottle of water (similar to crystal light packets), and they contain FORTY PERCENT of your daily fiber. pretty great, if you ask me.

    also, try using a website like http://www.fitday.com to go into even more detail with tracking what you’re eating. it’ll analyze what you’re taking in each day and tell you if you need to be getting more protein/carbs/whatever to reach your weight goal, based on the measurements you’re beginning with. this is a good tool to use in conjunction with weight watchers, because it helps you to not just use up your allotted amount of points, but to make sure they’re going toward the right nutritional regions.

  11. Amy June 1, 2008 at 9:52 pm #

    H, that bites, I’m sorry but you’ll get through it, I had a few weeks like that when I was with WW. I all told lost 22 pounds before getting pregnant. It’s just a long road and no, not every week will you lose. Hang in there! Thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

