Monday

9 Jun

Here we go with book review #39/40.

I am home sick today, so used the couch time to finish Arthur & George.  It was a wonderful book.  Long, but very well written and kept me interested throughout.  I thought it was great.

Verdict: A-

Next, I thought I would start a trendy book, Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth.  I only made it through eight pages before giving up.  I am not sure what it was about it that I didn’t like.  I just couldn’t get into it and, possibly inexplicably, couldn’t shake the feeling that I was being condescended to.  Condescended at?  Toward?  Whatever.  I felt like the book was talking down to me.  And so, as is my style, I moved on.

Verdict: D-

And so, book #41:

Spoken Here by Mark Abley, which is one of several books on linguistics in my current collection.  I’m excited.

2 Responses to “Monday”

  1. tash June 10, 2008 at 9:42 am #

    Good to know. I’ll add A&G to my read pile. I’ll also let you know what we’re reading next — should know on Friday!

  2. Chica June 12, 2008 at 3:47 am #

    I can never bring myself to just stop reading a book if I don’t like it. Even if I really don’t like it and waste months trying to get into it -literally, months because I really don’t want to read it but can’t give it up. I’m still reading Love in the Time of Cholera!

Leave a Reply

