Success!

13 Jul

Guess what I did today?  Remember this post?  I can now cross off #2!

Friday was a beautiful day which I loved.  I weighed in and have lost another .6 pounds, bringing my total to 21.6 pounds since January.  After weighing in, I headed to the mall and wandered around for a while, had a quick salad, and headed to my checkup with the girly doctor.  All was well, of course.

After my appointment, I had a fantastic late lunch with my friend Rachel.  We walked all over downtown Annapolis, ate at the fantastic Carpaccio, and shared some gelato.

On Saturday, Aaron and I slept in, ran some errands, and saw the latest Hellboy movie.  We thought it was great looking and more entertaining than the first one.  We also checked out Borders, where I got a new book and the latest issue of La Cucina Italiana, which I am considering subscribing to.

Today we went out to the local farmstand and stocked up on yellow squash, peaches, sweet corn, sweet potatoes, and mayhaw jelly!  I used the peaches to try out a recipe from La Cucina Italiana, and it was awesome.  Basically, I just split the peaches in half, took out the pits and put them on a cookie sheet.  Sprinkle a little sugar (I used Splenda) on the inside of each peach half, and then flip them over so they are skin-side up.  The recipe calls for a pat of butter on each peach, so I used ICBINB spray instead.  I baked the peaches for about 20 minutes, and then let them cool almost completely before putting a teaspoon of chocolate ice cream (low fat, of course) in the center of each peach half.  SO GOOD.

We had a great, relaxing weekend that saw me cleaning the kitchen and finally condensing my recipe collection.  For once, I might feel ready for the work week to begin!

4 Responses to “Success!”

  1. c. July 13, 2008 at 8:55 pm #

    Wow! That’s quite the task. Glad you managed to get it done. Sounds like the weekend was a good one!

  2. irunwithscissors July 13, 2008 at 10:54 pm #

    Mmmmmmmmmm….. I want Peachy desert goodness!

  3. FFrancesco July 14, 2008 at 3:41 am #

    My wife buy Cucina Italiana’s every month and she’s subscribed to the italian version of the website, http://www.lacucinaitaliana.it . It’s absolutely the best choice for italian recipes, brava, ciao!.

  4. Antigone July 14, 2008 at 7:58 am #

    Congratulations! I’m jealous. When this pregnancy ends I’m going to try to start running again. That’s the only way I’ve ever been able to control my weight.

    BTW, I’m planning on moving out to your area soon. Do you know of any high risk OB’s/hospitals you’d recommend? Shoot me an e-mail if you do.

Leave a Reply

