And A Half…

15 Jul

Today is Aunt Becky‘s birthday!  Go wish her cake and happiness please.

Thanks to this post by Mrs. Spit, I came across the nasty comment left by one of Becky’s readers.  Mrs. Spit has some fantastic things to say about the commenter’s grammatical choices.  One in particular struck me:

“2.5” kids. Around the IF and babyloss world, we don’t count babies in the womb or birds in the bush. How nice that you have always been able to count yours from day one. The rest of us count about when they start first grade. We consider counting them any earlier as hexing someone. This alone is enough to incur my wrath.

Funnily enough though, it struck me for the opposite reason.  I am bothered by the idea of “2.5 kids” in the same way that I am when people who know our story still say things like “when you’re a mom…” or “when you have kids.”  For me, I am irritated by the suggestion that the unborn baby is any less of a child just because it’s still womb-bound.

I am so wary of anything that takes away the validity of these precious, short little lives some of us have been touched by.  Aodin is no less real, no less my son, for the terrible shortness of his stay with us.  On the other hand, Mrs. Spit is right… those of us who’ve lost are certainly not counting on anything these days.

3 Responses to “And A Half…”

  1. mrs.spit July 15, 2008 at 2:30 pm #

    Thanks. I was a bit choked about the whole thing!

  2. Becky July 15, 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    That woman actually emailed me to apologize. Although not for what I was most offended by–also the labeling of the .5 kid. I’m still shocked that someone who reads my blog regularly would bitch at me for being whiny. I’m never half as whiny as I could be.

    That woman is something else.

  3. Becky July 15, 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    And thank you so very much for thinking of me today. The Internet is kinder than I’ll ever get at home.

Leave a Reply

