Too Excited To Think

16 Jul

Must Go To Rome Now….

This is what happens when I subscribe to the feed for Italy magazine.  I become aware of the following:

Chariot racing could return to Rome

”The event would last three days, starting on October 17, at the same period when the race took place in Roman times,” explained Vadis Al Maximo head, Franco Calo.

”All the main squares of the capital would be transformed into scenes from Ancient Rome, using props on loan from the Cinecitta film studios,” said Calo.

Read the rest of the article HERE.  Now I have to get to Rome to see this.  I mean, how could I miss it?  Reenacted chariot races?  Rebuilt Circus Maximus?  Ancient scenes from my favorite period in history all over my favorite city?

Personally, I think this is awesome.  I imagine if I lived in Rome I might think otherwise, as I am sure all of the changes will result in crowding, traffic, hassle, and general frustration.  However, once it is done I think it becomes one of those once in a lifetime, never forget it types of experience.

Must. Go.

5 Responses to “Too Excited To Think”

  1. Amy July 16, 2008 at 8:42 am #

    Wow, I wanna go too! Sounds like loads of fun and what a good time to be had by all that get to attend! Thanks for sharing!

  2. FFrancesco July 16, 2008 at 9:20 am #

    I have read about it, I knew it was a project for the 2009. It looks very ambitious and expensive, it will need big sponsorships and public investments and permissions. I think you’d like Rome even without events like that… someone said “in Rome art is everywhere”. Personally I don’t like so much roman rievocation, because the fascist dictator Mussolini forced the ancient Romans culture and icons as reference for its ideology. So I tend to have prejudices about the ancient Romans, and that’s not right, because they built the concept of modern nation, and wonderful art too. Maybe I prefer greeks philosophers than romans warriors :-). Sorry for my english, ciao!

  3. irunwithscissors July 17, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    awesome… Ill go with you!

  4. niobe July 24, 2008 at 9:22 am #

    What an incredibly cool thing!

  5. bastet3 July 31, 2008 at 7:18 pm #

    Be still my heart! Take me with you!

Leave a Reply

