Lucky In Love

18 Jul

THIS is why I adore my friend Brandi and am SO excited to see her in September:

We went to a tattoo shop near our house that our friend works at last night. He was in the middle of doing a sweet tattoo and we stood around chatting with him for a while. He was doing a nautical star with wings and clouds around it with the name “Stone” in a banner across the front. As we talked to the guy getting the tattoo and his wife, we learned it was for their son Stone who they lost when she was 5 months pregnant. The waterworks started instantly. I talked with her about it briefly and shared your story with Aodin, too. She was touched and glad to know she’s not alone in the world. I told her about your awesome tattoo, too. After that, Aodin was heavy on my heart all night. I’ve been thinking of you three all day.

That is from her email to me yesterday. She has never even met me in real life, but she cried for my son! She tells people about him like she knew him too, which I am so confident that she did in spirit. This is what I wrote back:

I love you! You are so precious for being so very touched by Aodin’s life. I cannot tell you what it means to me, or how very certain it makes me that you are a uniquely special person with a heart beyond measure. I absolutely cannot wait to finally see you in person and get that long awaited hug! I might cry… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I have been amazed by the kindness of people outside of our family circle through this whole thing, but I feel like Brandi is such a blessing in my life. I am so lucky! I have Aaron, I have my beautiful family, a mommy who is my best friend, and I have friends like Brandi. I have an amazing circle of online friends who give me so much support even though almost all of them are strangers in the real world sense. I am surrounded by people who have come together to hold me up when I needed the help, and who continue to make me laugh, smile, and sometimes even challenge my ways of thinking. I could not be luckier.

Maybe that sounds strange, considering what we have lost. But no, Aodin is as much a part of this feeling of luck and love as anyone else is. In fact, it is possible that he is the reason I can see any of this.

I miss my son, but I love my life.

3 Responses to “Lucky In Love”

  1. mrs.spit July 18, 2008 at 8:24 am #

    There is nothing more wonderful than those who remember our babies with us. Who use their name, and who keep them present with us. What a wonderful friend, and thanks for sharing.

  2. Brandi July 18, 2008 at 2:47 pm #

    Your post made me tear up, Heather! Thank you for being such an amazing friend back to me. You are one of a kind, that is for sure. πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you have a group of great friends to support you and Aaron through this. I know I’m not alone in my thoughts of Aodin and his beautiful mother and father daily. I love you guys.

  3. N.F. July 21, 2008 at 11:44 am #

    Even with your horrific loss, you sound so wise and mature that it makes my heart swell. (I know we don’t know each other, but still.) And, your post makes me more sensitive to another friend of mine who has had 3 miscarriages as of late. I pray for her and send you good thoughts also.

Leave a Reply

