Fields of Gold

31 Jul

I’m currently listening, over and over, to this.

I’m feeling… odd today.  Have you ever had a day where everything just seemed a little unreal, like at any moment you could wake up?  Today I feel utterly surreal.  It is the sort of day in which anything could happen, good or bad, and I would be incapable of surprise.

In the atmosphere, thick with uncertainty, I feel… removed.  I feel grounded in something and somewhere else, like my body went to work while my mind, my heart and soul stayed home to cuddle with the dog.

Listening to Fields of Gold might be the cause, or it might just be a symptom.  It’s the sort of song, like this one too (warning, that’s an old country song), that has always made me feel a little contemplative and perhaps nostalgic, though that word feels wrong here.  Perhaps instead they are the songs I seek out when I am already feeling this way.  Who would know?

And now, in keeping with the atmosphere, I hear the barest strains of children’s voices as the downstairs daycare leads their singing charges through the atrium on their way to a child-sized adventure.  Perhaps my mind, heart and soul can travel along with them for a while too, since they are so clearly unwilling to be relegated to a cubicle today.

4 Responses to “Fields of Gold”

  1. Bex July 31, 2008 at 5:22 pm #

    Yes. Every one of my days for the past two weeks have been completely detached from myself. Do you just feel like you’re somehow watching someone else go through the motions of your life?

  2. bastet3 July 31, 2008 at 7:10 pm #

    I have wierd spells like that too; my song is usually Collective Soul’s “Needs”, which is amazing.

    P.S. – I’m still alive! I’m checking up on all I’ve missed on your blog!

  3. CLC July 31, 2008 at 9:56 pm #

    I always feel odd. I hope you feel better tomorrow.

  4. Tara August 4, 2008 at 9:13 am #

    I like the Delerium (feat. Sarah McLachlan) song Silence. It’s on youtube if you want to listen to it. I like the remix. Also very good for working out too. It is a song from Spin Class, one of the instructors really likes it. I do too. So it is a double sided song, it can make me feel a little odd/melancholy, but also can pick me up. I know, I’m a little odd. That’s why you like me.

Leave a Reply

