Plateaus

1 Aug

That is the Colorado Plateau in Utah.  Beautiful, no?

And then there is this plateau:

down .4 pounds, up .4 pounds, down .4 pounds, up .4 pounds… rinse and repeat.

Seriously, I have gained/lost the same .4 pounds for over a month now.  I am cranky about it.  Any tips on how to bust through this mini-plateau?

7 Responses to “Plateaus”

  1. Becky August 1, 2008 at 11:39 am #

    Mix up your routine. Try eating all your points (incl. Flex), try eating very few. Try a new exercise. Eat some new foods.

    (I was on a plateau for 2 months)

  2. Becca August 1, 2008 at 12:59 pm #

    When I would plateau, I would take a couple of days and eat whatever I want, and then start the points again. That way your metabolism has to work hard again, and the weight loss should take off again. Good luck!

  3. niobe August 2, 2008 at 9:17 am #

    The plateau in the picture: Amazing

    The plateau on your scale: Incredibly frustrating.

    (no ideas here, just sympathy and hope it will end soon)

  4. irunwithscissors August 2, 2008 at 3:36 pm #

    Love you sis… your doing so great… just stick to it and it will break!

  5. Mom to Baby J August 3, 2008 at 8:04 pm #

    Hmmm…I’d be interested to know if any of those suggestions work. I.must.get.on.the.treadmill.this.week. Wanna join me?

    Good luck. And keep going! You are doing a great job!

  6. N.F. August 3, 2008 at 9:45 pm #

    I’m currently doing the Shangri-la Diet. Have you heard of it? It’s really helped me push through my recent plateau.

    GOOD luck. If I can do it, ANYONE can! I’m currently down 63+/- pounds….

    🙂

  7. missingone August 4, 2008 at 10:27 pm #

    You could do a ‘cleanse’. That’s what I do when I hit a plateau and it always jump starts the weight-loss again.
    I don’t know where you are, but I usually pick up one from the Elephant Pharmacy. And I saw Trader Joes is now carrying one.
    do the one that only lasts a few days though. Some carry on for weeks or a month…that’s just too much.

    Beautiful photo!

Leave a Reply

