Book Review #48

7 Aug

I finished Breaking Dawn.  I was super excited to read it because I liked the rest of the series so much.  This one, the final book in Stephenie Meyers’ Twilight series, was a total letdown for me.  I am going to avoid spoilers here and simply say that I was disappointed. I felt like this book, which had so much potential based on the rest of the series, was an inconsistent story with the characters completing breaking their established roles in totally unbelievable ways. To me, it just felt like a race to see how quickly the author could tie up every loose end…  I am in total agreement (for once) with the official review on Amazon, which basically sums it up by saying that in the end everyone gets what they want even if it means totally changing their character to make it happen.

I hate when people mess with my vampire fiction!

So… I was a little bummed about it, but fortunately I can’t stop reading so I am moving on to:

Anthony Doerr’s Four Seasons in Rome.

One Response to “Book Review #48”

  1. Luminous Hailer Star August 12, 2008 at 5:33 pm #

    Gotta applaud your Breaking Dawn comments. Glad I’m not the only person who thinks it should have been better and that the characters did some pretty uncharacteristic things. I was so freakin’ excited for this book, I went out and bought it at two in the morning on the night of the release. And then read it over the space of three days. And then felt massive disappointment. I want to be happy for the ending but an ending without sacrifice feels hollow and unworthy of the series.

Leave a Reply

