Book Review #50

17 Aug

Dear Internet,

Don’t let me read any more sad books for a while, okay?

I just finished The Lovely Bones, and then I cried for an hour.  Now my face is poofy.

The book is, of course, sad.  However, it also has a beautiful image of heaven and a wonderful story of a family that ends up healed and whole after the death of their daughter.  I was comforted by the way Susie could look down on her family and be near them, even make herself known to them a time or two.  In the beginning, Susie spends time thinking of all the things she will never get to do, which of course was terribly hard for me to read, but the worst of it?  The absolute worst part was reading about her individual family members as they broke up under the pressure of their own grief.  That was what had me crying on the bus.  Honestly though, the book was wonderful.  It’s just something that some of us will have to read alone, in the dark, with wine.

Verdict: A

Next up?  Who knows…  what do you follow up a sad book with?  I think I’ll go with this:

3 Responses to “Book Review #50”

  1. Melissa Morris August 17, 2008 at 5:11 pm #

    I also just read The Lovely Bones. I found it haunting as well, but by the end, I was really moved. I also chose to read something “not sad” after it, and I read Chasing Harry Winston…There were no tears at the end of this book for me; I cracked up through the whole thing.

    ~Melissa 🙂
    http://www.melissamorris.wordpress.com

  2. Antigone August 17, 2008 at 6:19 pm #

    And here I am reading an old Vonnegut book. I really need to get to B&N more often.

  3. CLC August 17, 2008 at 6:55 pm #

    I read that too. It’s so sad. And I read that pre-Hannah, so I imagine I would be a mess if I read that now. I think you need to pick a light one after that.

    (FYI, they just filmed the movie near our old house. It stars Mark Wahl.berg. He doesn’t gel with the image of the dad I had in my head. )

Leave a Reply

