Blessings

24 Aug

My beautiful friend Brandi, my closest heart friend beyond my family, may already have her sweet daughter in her arms as I type this.  She called me last night to let me know she was in the hospital, awaiting the birth of her first baby.  Everything is happy, healthy, and (as of last night) going just as planned.

I thought it might be hard for me.  I thought I might be upset.  Instead, I am feeling so much peace.  I just know that Brandi and Matt will be the best parents ever, and I know that their sweet little girl will be the perfect addition to their family.

I was so touched that she thought to call me from the hospital.  I know we’re close, but we still have never even met face to face, and yet she called me from her hospital room.  I couldn’t be happier for her and her family.  I couldn’t be more excited to meet her sweet little girl and (in 25 days) to hold her for a while.

My precious Brandi —

I cannot thank you enough for how you’ve included me in the beautiful experience of your pregnancy.  I hope you know that being included in your happiness has been as much help to me as has your tremendous love and support in the past year.  You have become one of the most precious people in my life.  I know this sweet girl will be so loved, so safe and sure of her place in the world.

Thank you for being my friend, for being so wonderful.

Happy Birthday, LG!

One Response to “Blessings”

  1. Brandi September 3, 2008 at 2:16 pm #

    Thank you for this, H. I’m just now reading it… but oh so touched. I’m glad you were able to share in Claire’s birthday with us – even if you’re far away. ❤

Leave a Reply

