5K?

25 Aug

Okay, there is an annual 5K in my town, and I sort of want to run in it this year!  The problem?  It’s in like three weeks.  That’s not doable, right?

Right now I am doing 45 minutes of cardio 3-4 days per week, walking at least one mile 5 days per week, and doing 1-2 days of half hour strength training.  I also do my pushups almost every day.  But I’m not running… not at all.

Think I could manage it, or should I just wait and see if there is something that comes up later in the fall?  I have pretty much already decided to add the Couch to 5K training program to my workouts starting next week.  My plan is to do the running bit in the mornings so that I can still do my lunchtime workouts.

Thoughts?  Suggestions?  I would especially appreciate help with finding the right shoes…

13 Responses to “5K?”

  1. Brandee August 25, 2008 at 8:17 am #

    I’m sorry, I can’t concentrate after seeing a picture of a delicious crab pretzel on your sidebar…
    :]

  2. Caryn August 25, 2008 at 11:12 am #

    I say you sign up for it. Even if you end up not being able to run the whole thing, getting through this first one will be a great accomplishment (and will help motivate you to sign up for the next one). Austin has a bunch of 5Ks… I usually walk them, and I complete them in about an hour… so if you run/jog/walk it, you’ll finish quicker than that. I totally think you can do it!

    As for shoes… I have some New Balance shoes that are really great… you can check out their website and find the type of shoes that fits your needs: http://www.newbalance.com/running/footwear/

  3. g August 25, 2008 at 11:57 am #

    you can totally do it!
    Go to a running store and get properly outfitted with shoes,it will be the best money you spend.

  4. daisybones August 25, 2008 at 12:03 pm #

    Yeah… I was going to suggest if it’s a walk/run you could probably walk it no problem. If you feel up to it, run as much as you can:)

    Rock on with your fitness-grabbing self!

  5. Becky August 25, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    You can do it. And I will join you. In a couple of months, that’s my goal. A 5K.

  6. Mom to Baby J August 25, 2008 at 1:18 pm #

    You can totally do it! If you have to walk a little bit, who cares! And yes, good shoes are a must. I like new balance as well. They seem to make my feet feel the best…at least when I was running. I did used to be a runner!

  7. brandy August 25, 2008 at 2:38 pm #

    You can definitely do it!! I completely believe in you lady.

  8. Bex August 25, 2008 at 2:46 pm #

    I say go for it. Even if you walk the whole thing and only run a little bit. You know there are always people who walk. I think it’ll be good.

  9. niobe August 25, 2008 at 5:55 pm #

    What everyone else said. I wish you lived near me. Maybe you could inspire me to start working out again.

  10. tash August 26, 2008 at 10:55 am #

    I used to do 10Ks fairly regularly (stops while you quit laughing) and let me tell you, the first one is the hardest one, no matter what kinda shape you’re in. It’s nervewracking, thinking about what time to arrive, how to warm up, how much water to drink, etc., ad nauseum. So I’d actually suggest that now might be a good time, even if you’re not in tip-top shape, to just go out and do it and get some of the logistical kinks out. Even if you end up walking at the end. And then you can make some goals, and see how things work, and the next time when you’re in shape you’ll be that much further ahead.

    I can’t wait until I’m really running again. Sigh.

  11. Ruby August 26, 2008 at 2:33 pm #

    You should definitely give it a shot, I am sure you can do it! I would suggest considering New Balance shoes, they’re great.

  12. Becca August 26, 2008 at 8:54 pm #

    You can always try and run, and if that doesn’t work out you could walk?? Just make sure you have some good shoes!

  13. Sarah August 28, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    I trained for three months (or so) to run a 5k at the speed I wanted…but I’m pretty sure you could totally rock out a walk/jog kind of thing and feel pretty damn accomplished!

Leave a Reply

